Meet of the Week: Texas Invite Day Two Finals

AUSTIN, Texas, November 30. THE second night of swimming came to a close at the University of Texas as the Texas Invite boasted some fast times in the Meet of the Week.

Women's 200 medley relay
Arizona's foursome off Hailey DeGolia, Jessica Embick, Lara Jackson and Courtney Cashion topped the field in 1:38.58, while Stanford's team of Julia Smit, Caroline Bruce, Elaine Breeden and Brooke Bishop took second in 1:39.44.

Wisconsin's Margaret Meyer, Rose Morahan, Christine Zwiegers and Jacqueline Vavrek completed the top three in 1:39.94.

Men's 200 medley relay
Longhorn sported the Texas Trio plus its freestyle companion Neil Walker as Aaron Peirsol, Brendan Hansen, Ian Crocker and Walker raced to a first-place time of 1:25.31.

Tennessee's team of Michael Wolfe, Barry Murphy, Octavio Alesi and Jonas Persson provided some strong competition with a second-place 1:26.03, while Arizona's Jake Tapp, Marcus Titus, Albert Subirats and Nicholas Nilo took third in 1:26.46.

Women's 400 IM
Stanford's Julia Smit dominated the field with a sterling time of 4:06.95 to win the event, while Arizona's Carley Beaudreau finished second in 4:12.55. Arizona also placed third and fourth as Caitlin Iversen (4:13.38) and Jenny Forster (4:13.97) finished under the 4:14 mark.

Men's 400 IM
Arizona State's CJ Nuess claimed a rivalry win over Arizona's Jack Brown in the men's longer medley. Nuess touched in 3:44.51, while Brown clocked a second-place time of 3:47.05. Texas' Michael Klueh rounded out the top three in 3:49.19.

Women's 200 freestyle
Longhorn Tanica Jamison won the event in a quick time of 1:45.47, as she knocked off Stanford's Kate Dwelley, who touched in 1:46.04 for second place. Arizona's Taylor Baughman claimed third place in 1:46.56.

Men's 200 freestyle
Adam Ritter of Tucson Ford dropped a sterling time of 1:33.23 to win the men's 200 free, while Arizona's Jean Basson took second in 1:33.68. Texas' Dave Walters also checked in with a third-place time of 1:33.81. Notably, Tennessee's Jonas Persson turned in a 1:33.82 to win the consolation heat.

Women's 100 breaststroke
With Jessica Hardy turning heads in Atlanta with a blazing fast sub-1:00 time, Arizona's Annie Chandler and Jacquelyn Craft posted some quality times of their own. Chandler won in 1:00.58, while Craft touched second in 1:01.51.

Stanford's Caroline Bruce hit the wall just behind with a third-place 1:01.56, while teammate Liz Smith finished fourth in 1:02.95.

Men's 100 breaststroke
Brendan Hansen, the world's top breaststroker, ripped off a time of 52.81 to claim the 100 breast. Hansen, however, has some company after American-record holder in the event, Mike Alexandrov, clocked a near-record time of 51.80 in Atlanta.

Meanwhile, SMU's Alex Hetland took second in 53.20, while Texas' Matt Lowe finished third in 53.81.

Women's 100 backstroke
Although Kirsty Coventry took it too easy during prelims with a 55.99 to finish in the consolation heat, she poured it on at night with a slick time of 52.87 for the fastest time of the night.

Arizona's Hailey DeGolia won the championship heat with a time of 53.23, while teammate Ana Agy finished second in 53.80. Arizona State's Caitlin Andrew closed out the top three in 54.11.

Men's 100 backstroke
In a star-studded finale, Aaron Peirsol topped all-comers with a winning effort of 45.69. Arizona's Albert Subirats finished second in 45.91, while Ian Crocker placed in the medals with a third-place 45.97.

Diving Results
Texas' Kathryn Kelly (304.90) and Mary Yarrison (278.20) placed first and second in the women's one-meter, while Stanford's Meg Hostage took third with 272.15 points.

Matt Cooper of Texas also won the men's three-meter with 373.15 points, while Stanford's Brent Eichenseer took second with 343.40 points. Tennessee's Mike Muscari rounded out the top three with 328.20 points.

Women's 800 freestyle relay
Texas' Susana Escobar, Alex Basso, Hee-Jin Chang and Macie Garrett won the women's 800 freestyle relay in 7:18.13, while Wisconsin's Jennifer Illescas, Rose Morahan, Margaret Meyer and Hannah McClurg placed second in 7:23.23.

Men's 800 freestyle relay
SMU's foursome of Shane Milu, Nate Clark, Thomas Fadnes and Luka Vrtovec touched first in 6:33.97, while Texas' B team of Michael Klueh, Jonathan Jackson, Matthew Donch and Jim Robertson finished second in 6:34.95.

Comments Off on Meet of the Week: Texas Invite Day Two Finals

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here