Inge Dekker Posts Pair of Top 10 Times at KNZB Challenger Time Trial

DORDRECHT, The Netherlands, July 11. DURING a time trial session that took place between prelims and finals of the European Junior Championships, some of the top Dutch swimmers took to the water as part of the KNZB Challenger. Inge Dekker had a pair of strong swims, while Moniek Nijhuis also doubled up.

Dekker ripped off a 57.32 in the women’s 100-meter fly for her first swim of the session. That time vaulted her to fourth in the SwimVortex world rankings behind only Sarah Sjostrom (56.50), Jeanette Ottesen (56.96) and Katerine Savard (57.27). Femke Heemskerk raced her way to second in 58.99 , while Elinore de Jong took third in 1:00.21. Marlou van der Kulk set a European record in the S14 Paralympic division with a sixth-place 1:10.32.

Dekker then doubled up with a 24.72 to win the women’s 50-meter free. That swim pushed her to 10th in the world rankings, trumping Aliaksandra Herasimenia’s 24.73 from the Belarus Open for the 10th spot. Maud van der Meer (25.21) and Tamara van Vliet (25.60) finished second and third in the splash-and-dash.

Heemskerk also won the women’s 100-meter back in 1:00.92. Maaike de Waard took second in 1:02.13 with Annemarie Worst earning third in 1:02.71. Bastiaan Lijesen took the men’s 100-meter back title in 55.73, while Arjan Hanse (1:00.76) and Richard Kuipers (1:03.54) finished second and third.

Moniek Nijhuis jumped to fifth in the world rankings with a 30.91 to win the women’s 50-meter breaststroke. She still has a second to catch up to the top-ranked Ruta Meilutyte (29.90), but Nijhuis definitely became part of the conversation with this swim. Carmen van de Rijt finished second in 33.76 with Tes Schouten earning third in 34.20.

Nijhuis doubled up with a 2:32.43 to win the women’s 200-meter breaststroke going away. Van de Rijt took second in 2:40.77 with Cynthia Verkaik placing third in 2:44.29. Magda Toeters set the SB14 Paralympic world record with a sixth-place time of 2:49.60.

Bram Dekker took home the men’s 50-meter breast crown in 28.71, while Jordan Kraaijenhof touched second in 29.80. Arno Kamminga wound up third in 29.95. Mike Marissen turned in a 54.52 to win the men’s 100-meter fly. Yamiko Steenhoek picked up second in 56.85, while Ruben Stam touched third in 58.03.

Wendy van der Zanden snatched the women’s 200-meter free title in 2:00.10, while Rieneke Terink placed second in 2:01.41. Saskia de Jonge rounded out the top three in 2:01.69. Sebastiaan Verschuren hit the wall in 1:48.09 to win the men’s 200-meter free, while Ferry Weertman (1:49.05) and Dion Dressens (1:49.37) also cleared 1:50 to take second and third in the finale.

Marjolein Delno dominated the women’s 200-meter IM with a 2:17.49, while Cynthia Verkaik finished a distant second in 2:20.98. Esmee Bos rounded out the podium with a third-place time of 2:22.45. Sebas van Lith won the men’s 400-meter IM in 4:30.53, while Arjan Knipping took second in 4:34.47. Marc Evers set the SM14 Paralympic division world record with a third-place time of 4:52.79.

Lucas Greven snared the men’s 200-meter breaststroke crown in 2:15.74. Arno Kamminga (2:24.60) and Wietse Waninge (2:39.35) took second and third. Jasper van Mierlo won the men’s 50-meter free in 22.33 with Jesse Putz taking second in 22.86. Joeri Verlinden clinched third-place honors in 23.27.

Comments Off on Inge Dekker Posts Pair of Top 10 Times at KNZB Challenger Time Trial

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue