Indian River Well On Way to NJCAA Title

BUFFALO, New York, March 7. INDIAN River State College is well on its way to yet another team title sweep at the NJCAA Championships. The men are vying for their 39th straight win, while the women are looking for a 32nd consecutive victory.

Indian River's Courtney Parenti (24.12), Maria Munoz (23.46), Patricia Casellas (22.98) and Rebecca Derogatis (23.73) took the women's 200-yard free relay title in 1:34.29, while Daytona State's Ginny Grams, Sophie Drake, Kadeja Phillip and Triniti Counter earned second with a 1:35.04. Darton's Emily Mitchell, Sarah Hoop, Sandra Guerrero and Anna Macht took third in 1:38.77.

IRSC's Brad Tandy (19.50), Luis Flores (19.72), Tim Zoltowski (20.16) and Chad Harrington (20.19) clinched the men's 200-yard free relay with a 1:19.57, while Dayton State's Marco Gonzalez (20.03), David Lambert (19.80), Charles Williams (20.27) and Yianni Thermos (19.65) finished a close second in 1:19.75. Lincoln's Max Spencer, C.J. Van Wormer, Ty Jacobs and Josh Lercel took third in 1:25.01.

Daytona State's Ginny Grams ripped off a 4:56.02 to win the women's 500-yard free, while IRSC's Hallie Petersohn grabbed a close second in 4:56.59. IRSC's Kelley Faulkner finished a distant third in 5:11.98. IRSC swept the top three in the men's 500-yard free with Bryan Clarke (4:31.47), Frank Horpel (4:32.58) and Marc Rojas (4:33.61) going 1-2-3.

The River's Solyve Lizardi knocked down the women's 200-yard IM with a 2:03.84, while Darton's Anna Macht placed second in 2:04.91. IRSC's Maria Munoz finished third in 2:06.34. IRSC's Edwin Angjeli followed with a 1:51.20 to win the men's 200-yard IM. Teammate Alec Scott touched second in 1:52.26, while Iowa Central's Goran Koprivnjak turned in a third-place 1:52.46.

IRSC completely dominated the women's 50-yard free event with a stunning 1-6 finish. Patricia Casellas (23.56), Courtney Parenti (23.76), Rebecca Derogatis (24.10), Alyson Kaywork (24.37), Olivia Sims (24.40) and Darenti Turner (24.85) accomplished the feat for The River. In wasn't nearly as impressive as his historic 19.06 NJCAA record to win last year, but IRSC's Brad Tandy defended his title with a 19.51 in th emen's 50-yard free. Teammate Luis Flores took second in 20.11, while Daytona State's Marco Gonzalez finished third in 20.19.

During diving this afternoon, Indian River's Shannon Mesaros topped the women's one-meter diving event with 368.40 points, while Darton's Kelsey Carniglia picked up second-place honors with 346.00 points. Lincoln's Kendra Holcom wound up third with 342.50 points. Darton's Crawford Berry claimed one of the few non-IRSC titles with 515.70 points to win the men's three-meter diving event. IRSC's David Zarb (456.60) and David Dawson (452.35) rounded out the top three.

Women's Top Five
Indian River 563
Darton 365
Monroe 231
South Georgia 228
Daytona State 223

Men's Top Five
Indian River 667
Daytona State 416
Darton 247
Iowa Central 243
Monroe 207.5

Comments Off on Indian River Well On Way to NJCAA Title

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue