High School State Championships: Wisconsin Boys

MADISON, Wisconsin, February 18. MADISON Memorial High School's 400 free relay put an exclamation point to the Wisconsin Division 1 Boys Swimming and Diving Championships Feb. 15-16 with a state record 3:04.89. Seniors Jeremy Temprano, Anthony Walker and Nick Menninga, with junior John Hornacek swimming the third leg, bettered the record posted by last year's squad of 3:06.11.

Madison Memorial's Henry Patterson and Ben Immerfall, both seniors, joined Temprano and Hornacek to start the meet with a 1:35.17 win in the 200 medley relay. Walker, sophomore Alex Peterson-Weber, junior Nathan Eckerle and Menninga were first in the 200 free relay with their 1:25.29.

Menninga was a double-event champion with his 20.81 in the 50 free and 46.47 in the 100 free. Temprano contributed 20 points with his win in the 200 IM (1:50.38).

Madison Memorial captured the team title with 316 points, with Madison West claiming second (206), Eau Claire Memorial third (191), Middleton fourth (168.5) and Muskego fifth (156).

Three state records were erased during the championships. Garrett Weber-Gale's 2003 standard of 49.73 was taken down by Homestead junior Nicholas Peterson, who recorded a 49.34. Alex DeLakis, a senior at Eau Claire Memorial, posted a 54.56 to clear Chris Wood's 1995 mark of 55.87. In the diving competition, Racine Park senior Andrew Suchla put together 563.45 points to better Mark Gabos' 549.80 points from 1984.

Middleton senior Jackson Uselman took first in the 200 free (1:41.87), West Bend E/W senior Matt McHugh's 48.71 gave him the title in the 100 fly and Muskego junior Joe Szczupakiewicz topped the field in the 500 free with his 4:35.93.

Division 2
Monona Grove swimmers put together 258 points for the school's first-ever championship title. Edgewood's 209 points gave them second place. Milton edged McFarland for third (198-190.5), and Fort Atkinson came in fifth, just three points ahead of Grafton (159-156).

Monona Grove's 200 medley relay of seniors Mitchell Paull, Tyler Roehr, junior Andrew Sackett and Alex Kimmell started the meet with a 1:36.74 triumph in the 200 medley relay. Sophomore Lars Doll came on board with Kimmell, Sackett and Roehr for a 1:27.28 triumph in the 200 free relay.

Individual titles went to Monona Grove's Roehr in the 200 IM (1:53.35) and senior Brandon Benson in the 100 fly (51.79).

Grafton senior Al Nennig was the only two-event champion with his 52.65 in the 100 back–12-hundredths ahead of Shawano Community sophomore Zach Soper– and 21.08 in the 50 free.

First-place swims were turned in by Kirill Korolev, a junior at Shorewood (200 free, 1:44.41); Lee Hollman, a senior at Fort Atkinson (100 free, 47.41); Kevin Van Cleave, a sophomore at Brookwood Academy (500 free, 4:42.63) and Spencer Mattox, a senior at Milton (100 breast, 57.35). Whitefish Bay sophomore Joe Kaszubowski was the diving champion (513.40 points).

Fort Atkinson junior Tyler Zaspel led off the winning 400 free relay with seniors Paul Hill, Avery Kan and Hollman (3:15.90).

Comments Off on High School State Championships: Wisconsin Boys

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue