Darian Townsend Doubles Up; Megan Jendrick, Dagny Knutson Continue Comebacks

OKLAHOMA CITY, Oklahoma, December 15. THE second night of action at the Chesapeake Elite Pro-Am featured quite a few comeback stories, while Tucson Ford's Darian Townsend rolled to a pair of titles in Oklahoma.

Minnesota's Jillian Tyler claimed the women's 100-yard breaststroke title in a touchout triumph ahead of two-time Olympic gold medalist Megan Jendrick, 1:00.24 to 1:00.35, while Wild West's Jordan Ehly clinched third in 1:03.00.

Jendrick has one of the more interesting training stories as of late. The mother of a one-year-old son named Daethan, Jendrick and her husband Nathan have continued to work on ways to get the Olympian back into training. Recently, she's been training during lap swimming at a local pool, and getting in about five hours a week of work. Last night's finish provided a fun family moment as Daethan enjoyed his first podium appearance with his mother, as seen in the picture provided by Jendrick.

Tucson Ford's Darian Townsend hit the wall in 1:33.55 in the men's 200 free, crushing the field in the process. Schroeder's Steve Cebertowicz finished second in 1:38.68, while Mission Viejo's Janardan Burns claimed third in 1:39.07. Townsend then doubled up with a 3:43.80 to win the men's 400 IM. California's Sean Mahoney touched second in 3:50.52 with Lincoln's Brennan Balogh taking third in 3:58.56.

California's Liv Jensen topped the women's 200 free with a 1:45.65, while ASK's Dagny Knutson continued her comeback trail from an eating disorder with a second-place 1:46.35. Mission Viejo's Kathryn McLaughlin touched third in 1:47.20. McLaughlin then scorched the field in the women's 100 fly with a 53.37 as Tyler turned in a second-place 56.05. FAST's Alexandra Lakota finished third in 56.32.

PASA's BJ Johnson clinched the men's 100 breast title in 52.86, while Mahoney placed second in 53.03. Minnetonka's David Plummer, typically a backstroker, finished third in 55.12. Stanford's Eugene Godsoe took a run at Ian Crocker's meet and pool record of 45.60 from 2007 with a 45.63 to win the men's 100 fly, while Schroeder's Adam Mania took second in 46.77. Ellis Miller rounded out the top three in 47.32.

Club Wolverine's Emily Brunemann slashed through the women's 400 IM field with a 4:17.62 for the win. Mission Viejo's Elizabeth Devitt took second in 4:21.66, while Topeka's Sammie Schurig finished third in 4:23.74.

Mission Viejo's Brooke Lorentzen, Sydney Franzen, Elizabeth Devitt and Kathryn McLaughlin won the women's 400 free relay in 3:27.00, while Schroeder's Nicholas Petersen, Adam Mania, Steve Cebertowicz and Kevin Ewald clinched the men's 400 free relay title in 2:58.28.

Comments Off on Darian Townsend Doubles Up; Megan Jendrick, Dagny Knutson Continue Comebacks

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here