Breeja Larson, Michael McBroom With Big Swims at Texas Senior Circuit Stop

AUSTIN, Texas, July 11. THE Austin stop of the Texas Senior Circuit witnessed some world-class swims tonight.

Aggie Swim’s Breeja Larson opened up the night with a sterling time in the women’s 200-meter breast. She won in 2:25.18, which shot her right up to 16th in the SwimVortex world rankings. BlueFish’s Laura Sogar wound up taking second tonight in 2:32.05 and watched her season best of 2:26.14 get bumped out of the top 20 by Larson’s time. Longhorn’s Madisyn Cox rounded out the top three in 2:32.51.

The Woodlands’ Michael McBroom had a lifetime best in the men’s 400-meter free as the 23-year-old clocked a 3:48.93 for the win. That swim cleared the 3:49.26 he posted at the Santa Clara stop of the Arena Grand Prix last month, and shot him to 18th in the SwimVortex world rankings. That’s a big swim for the former Longhorn. Sam Lewis finished second in 3:53.67, while Longhorn’s Clay Youngquist placed third in 3:53.67.

Another big-hitter at the meet, Simone Manuel of First Colony, put up an easy-speed 25.53 to win the women’s 50-meter freestyle tonight. She’s been faster this year with a 25.27 at the Austin stop of the Arena Grand Prix, but it was enough for the win tonight. Lakeside’s Lauren Pitzer took second in 25.92 – her first time under 26 seconds. Her previous best had been a 26.20 from the Bill Nixon Memorial in June. Jacqueline Fehr clinched third in 26.14.

Nitro’s Will Licon topped the men’s 200-meter breaststroke finale with a time of 2:15.48, while teammate Cole Hurwitz finished a distant second in 2:17.90. The Woodlands’ Matt Korman snared third overall in the championship heat with a 2:20.35. Another Nitro win went to Matt Ellis, who posted a 22.53 to win the men’s 50-meter free. NYAC’s Jimmy Feigen checked in with a second-place 22.59, while Alamo Area’s John Murray picked up third in 22.95.

NCAP’s Kaitlin Pawlowicz won the women’s 200-meter fly by more than a second with a 2:13.56. That’s just a bit slower than her in-season best of 2:12.79 set at this meet a year ago. Longhorn’s Kelsey Leneave hit the wall second in 2:14.59 tonight, while her teammate Dakota Luther earned third in 2:14.68. That’s a huge lifetime best for the 14-year-old Luther, who entered today with a 2:16.67 personal record from the Austin stop of the Arena Grand Prix this year.

Longhorn’s John Martens nearly beat his lifetime best in the men’s 200-meter fly with a time of 1:59.71. That swim came up short of the 1:59.57 he set at the 2013 U.S. Open, but it did become his first in-season 1:59 ever. Teammate Clark Smith placed second in the finale in 2:00.12 with Missouri’s Andrew Phillips placing third in 2:03.00.

Aggie Swim’s Sarah Henry earned the women’s 400-meter free title in 4:12.58. Longhorn’s Madisyn Cox kept busy with another podium as she took second in 4:16.20. Lakeside’s Lauren Pitzer, just 15, had another lifetime best as she clocked a third-place 4:18.08. Her best time coming into today was a 4:21.92 from the Bill Nixon Memorial.

Full results on Meet Mobile.

Comments Off on Breeja Larson, Michael McBroom With Big Swims at Texas Senior Circuit Stop

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here