Amy Bilquist Breaks Meet Record On Final Night of Indy Sectionals

By Rebecca Noblett

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, March 30. AMY Bilquist of Carmel Swim Club broke her own meet record in the 100m free on the last night of finals at the Speedo Indianapolis Sectionals.

Bilquist broke the meet record with a 55.93 in prelims, then broke it again with a 55.59 in finals for first place and a new personal best. Lauren Heller of the Lake Erie Silver Dolphins posted a personal best 56.48 for second. Waves Bloomington Swim Team’s Melissa Pish touched third in 57.04.

Daniel Kanorr of Counsilman Center Swim Team won the men’s 100m free with a 51.40. Luis Enrique Campos Alpizar of Jalisco took second with a 51.46. Samuel Lorentz of Indiana University hit the wall third with a personal best time of 51.49.

A pair of fourteen-year olds dominated the women’s 1500m free. Hopkins Mariner Swim Team’s Erin Earley won in a personal best 17:00.52, with Melissa Pish touching second in a personal best 17:05.82. Emily Meckstroth clocked in at 17:22.25 for third and a new personal best.

Indiana University’s Grayson Smith won the men’s 800m free with a personal best 8:24.36. Michael Wolfe of Bloomington Waves Swim Team, who will swim at Southern Illinois University, claimed second with an 8:33.03. Jackson Higgins of Dayton Raiders took third with a personal best 8:36.08.

Miranda Tucker of Livonia Community Swim Club put up a personal best 2:18.46 to win the women’s 200m IM. Fishers Area Swimming Tigers’ Lauren Edelman touched second with a 2:19.67. Samantha Burchill of Carmel Swim Club finished third with a 2:19.98.

Donald Hurley of Indiana University won the men’s 200m IM with a 2:04.83. Brock Turner of Dayton Raiders, a Stanford recruit, hit the wall second in 2:04.91. Indiana University’s Robert Glover claimed third with a 2:07.21.

Carmel Swim Club took the top two spots in the women’s 400m medley relay. The A-team (Amy Bilquist, Veronica Burchill, Hanna House, Claire Adams) took first with a 4:18.64, while the B-team (Samantha Burchill, Haley Harris, Taite Kitchel, Kendall Smith) touched second in 4:22.94. Bloomington Waves Swim Team (Grace Ariola, Katelyn Sauder, Hannah Sakaluk, Melissa Pish)hit the wall third in 4:23.89.

Indiana University (Robert Glover, Tanner Kurz, Joseph Powell, Yianni Thermos) won the men’s 400m medley relay with a time of 3:48.25. Dayton Raiders (Brock Turner, Thomas Cope, Henrik Pohlmann, Jackson Higgins) took second with a time of 3:54.28. The Hooisers’ B-team (Curtis Goss, Marijn Van Zundert, Kyle Johnson, Donald Hurley) finished third with a time of 3:57.51.

Indiana University finished the meet with the top combined points (1508) followed by Carmel Swim Club (1173) and Fishers Area Swimming Tigers (719).

Comments Off on Amy Bilquist Breaks Meet Record On Final Night of Indy Sectionals

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue