2000 Big 10 Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships: Michigan Wins

Ann Arbor, MI – The University of Michigan captured the team trophy at the 2000 Big Ten Conference Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships, held Thursday through Saturday (Feb. 24-26) at Canham Natatorium. It was Michigan’s 31st Big Ten swimming and diving title and the team’s first since the 1997 season. The Wolverines totalled 682 points, outdistancing second-place Minnesota, which finished with 601 points. Penn State, the 1999 Big Ten champion, finished third with 514 points.

Michigan coach Jon Urbanchek was named the Big Ten Swimming Coach of the Year. It is the seventh time in his career that he has earned the honor. Urbanchek also earned Coach of the Year honors in 1987-90-93-94-95 and shared the award in 1991. Indiana’s Jeff Huber was named the Diving Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.

Minnesota’s Alex Massura was named the Big Ten Swimmer of the Year, while teammate Dan Croaston was voted the Big Ten Diver of the Year. Massura captured two individual events, winning the 200-yard backstroke and setting a pool record in the 100-yard backstroke. He also was a member of four first-place relay teams (200 freestyle, 400 medley, 800 freestyle and 400 freestyle). Croaston won the three-meter diving event with a score of 631.40 and placed second in one-meter diving with a score of 555.15.

Comments Off on 2000 Big 10 Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships: Michigan Wins

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue