2013mncaaAndrew Teduits places first in the prelims of the 200 backstroke.
Courtesy of: Peter H. Bick
Editorial coverage sponsored by SpeedoUSA

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, March 30. ANDREW Teduits became Wisconsin's first NCAA titlist since 1959 with a dominant swim in the men's 200-yard back at the NCAA Division I Men's Championships.

Teduits crushed the field with a sizzling time of 1:38.27, having split the race 22.93, 47.60, 1:12.94, 1:38.27. He was under record pace at the 100, and right on NCAA-record pace at the 150. That swim made him the sixth-fastest swimmer of all time, as the performance now stands as the eighth-fastest swim ever in the event's history.

Teduits became the first Wisconsin NCAA titlist since Fred Westphal won the 50-yard free with a 22.3 way back in 1959.

David Nolan of Stanford raced to second in 1:39.31. Along with victories in the 200 IM and 100 back, Nolan put up one of the top performances of all time. He just fell a bit short of becoming the first three-time titlist in a single meet since Ryan Lochte in 2006. Nolan's time moved him to 12th all time in the event's history.

California's Jacob Pebley put up a strong time of his own with a third-place effort of 1:39.71. Eastern Michigan's Jacob Hanson (1:39.87), Indiana's Eric Ress (1:39.92), Texas' Kip Darmody (1:41.02) Stanford's Matt Swanston (1:41.43) and Texas' Austin Surhoff (1:41.89) finished fourth through eighth in the finale.

Virginia's Luke Papendick turned in a 1:41.50 to win the B final in the distance dorsal.

Michigan remained on top with 393 points, while California increased its second-place total to 317.5 points. Arizona (241.5), Texas (233) and Southern California (215) rounded out the top five with Stanford (212) just on the outside.

Results: NCAA Division I Men's Championships: Day Three Finals

Search For More News About: Andrew Teduits