USA Swimming Grand Prix, Minneapolis: Chloe Sutton, Rebecca Soni Set Meet Records

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, November 13. THE first night of action at the USA Swimming Grand Prix held in Minneapolis, Minn., featured a pair of meet records.

Mission Viejo's Chloe Sutton set a meet record with a 9:33.72 in the women's 1000-yard free. That time cleared the 9:33.98 previously set by Flavia Rigamonti in 2007. The Fish's Kate Ziegler kept on the comeback trail with a silver-winning 9:34.12. Mission Aurora's Bonnie Brandon wound up third in 9:42.30.

Michigan's Andre Schultz cruised in the men's 1000-yard free with a winning time of 9:05.01. Minnesota's Michael McBroom finished a distant second in 9:15.88, while Mission Viejo's Jan Daniec took third in 9:16.19.

Rebecca Soni of Trojan cleared 1:00 to win the women's 100 breast. Her time of 59.69 gave her the title, and cleared Jessica Hardy's meet record of 1:00.13 set in 2007. Santa Barbara's Katy Freeman placed second in 1:00.67 with Minnesota's Jillian Tyler taking third in 1:01.16.

Tucson Ford's Mike Alexandrov just missed his meet record of 53.41 in the men's 100 breast with a top time of 53.61 for the win. Longhorn's Matthew Lowe wound up second in 54.51 with Minnesota's Ivan Gutesa finishing third in 55.91.

Swim Florida's Erika Erndl won the women's 200 free in 1:47.84 with Sutton finishing a surprising second in 1:48.18 as she continues to demonstrate some range. Minnesota's Marissa Davies claimed third in 1:49.93.

California's Will Copeland followed with a 1:36.16 to capture the men's 200 free crown. Longhorn's Michael Klueh placed second in 1:37.57, while Michigan's Dan Madwed clinched third in 1:38.18.

Washington State's Michaela Ahlin snatched the women's 100 fly in 54.11, while Manta's Chantal Vanlandeghem touched second in 54.77. Washington State's Taylor Whitaker finished third in 55.66.

In the men's 100 fly, Jason Dunford topped the field with a 47.25, while Michigan's Chris Brady took second in 47.65. Madwed picked up his second bronze in a row with a 49.04.

Whitaker turned bronze one race prior into gold in the women's 200 IM with a 2:00.89. Soni earned her second medal of the night with a silver-winning 2:01.75, while Erndl did as well with a third-place 2:02.62.

Trojan's Thiago Pereira just missed Ryan Lochte's 2007 meet record of 1:45.14 with a winning effort of 1:45.41. Schultz added a silver to his distance gold earlier in the evening with a 1:46.83, while Pine Crest' Bradley Ally completed the top three in 1:49.96. Pereira might have had a second medal if he had made finals in the 100 breast earlier. He clocked a 54.77 in the B final, which would have finished third in the championship heat.

In the mixed 100-yard fly disability event to open the evening, Blake Adams clocked a 1:10.18, while Alex Dionne (1:14.33) and Mallory Weggemann (1:14.89) also competed.

Minnesota's Ashley Steenvoorden, Hannah Whitehead, Kristen Steenvoorden and Marissa Davies won the women's 800 free relay in 7:21.36. Meanwhile, Michigan's Hassaan Abdel Khalik, Madwed, Charles Houchin and Adam DeJong set the men's 800 free relay meet record with a 6:36.26. That readout cleared the 6:41.82 set by Minnesota last year.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x