Race Video: Some Serious Speed in the 100 Free at Juniors

Editorial coverage for U.S. Junior Nationals proudly sponsored by Q Swimwear!

IRVINE, California, August 1. SOME seriously speedy swims went up on the scoreboard in the 100-meter freestyle at the USA Swimming Junior Nationals.

Women’s 100 free

She had to track down Roadrunner’s Stanzi Moseley to do it, but Carmel’s Amy Bilquist led a Carmel Crush in the 100-meter free with a personal best 54.85. That clipped the 54.88 she set this morning. Moseley, meanwhile, took second in 55.04 to just miss her 55.03 best from prelims. Veronica Burchill took third for Carmel in 55.89, while Claire Adams finished eighth for the Carmel squad in 57.14.

Y-Sparta’s Katrina Konopka (56.00), Greensboro’s Natalie Labonge (56.27), City of Mobile’s Paige Madden (56.43) and Saint Andrew’s Megan Moroney (56.74) also put up swims in the finale.

After winning the 200 back C final in a lifetime best, Scottsdale’s Taylor Ruck remained on fire with a personal-best 55.79 to win the B final. Entering today, she held a 56.94 best and chopped more than a second off that time. Lakeside’s Lauren Pitzer clipped Pleasanton’s Erika Brown, 56.23 to 56.24, for second in the consolation heat.

All Star’s Carolina McTaggart charted a 56.44 to win the C final tonight. That’s a personal best after a two-year wait, as she previously posted a 56.63 at the 2012 NCSA Junior Nationals. PASA’s Leah Goldman finished second in the bonus final with a 56.90, while Lake Erie’s Lauren Heller placed third in 57.06.

A final

Editor’s note: Someone put in a copyright claim, likely on the introduction music, so the audio on this video might be muted.

B final

C final

Men’s 100 free

NOVA’s Townley Haas, the 500-yard freestyle record holder in the 15-16 national age group record, showed some versatility with a junior national title in the 100-meter free tonight with a 50.12 after clocking a 50.62 last year.

Five swimmers all cleared 51 seconds in the championship heat with Pleasanton’s Maxime Rooney (50.60), Dynamo’s Knox Auerbach (50.62), AGUA’s Michael Domagala (50.72) and Michigan Lakeshore’s Tabahn Afrik (50.97) all putting up 50-points tonight. Upper Dublin’s Michael Jensen (51.22), Machine’s James Murphy (51.40) and Bolles’ Tyler Rice (51.73) comprised the rest of the podium tonight in Irvine.

Nitro’s Tate Jackson broke 51 seconds for the first time with a 50.72 to win the B final. That lowered the 51.37 he posted this morning in prelims as his new lifetime best. Phoenix Swim Club’s Ryan McCoy took second in 51.20 with Saint Andrew’s Gage Kohner taking third in 51.29.

Canyons’ Cole Cogswell hit the wall in 51.14 for the C final win, beating his lifetime best of 51.54 from prelims. Indiana University’s Max Irwin placed half-a-second back with a 51.54, while Central Bucks’ Greg Brocato snared third in the bonus heat with a 51.61.

A final

B final

C final

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x