Japanese Short Course National Championships: Kosuke Kitajima Completes National Record Breaststroke Sweep

TOKYO, Japan, February 27. A day after charting a Japanese record in the men's 100 breast, Kosuke Kitajima completed the national standard sweep in the breaststroke events at the Japanese Short Course National Championships held in Tokyo,

Kitajima nearly clocked a textile best in the 200 breast with a sterling time of 2:02.95. The top time in a textile suit in the event still remained Ed Moses' 2:02.92 from Berlin in 2004. Kitajima did, however, track down Naoya Tomita's national record of 2:03.12 set at the 2010 World Championships. Tomita clocked a 2:04.27 to finish second today, while Yuta Suenaga took third in 2:04.60.

Earlier in the night, Kitajima also took down the national record in the men's 50 breast with a strong time of 26.68. Kouichirou Okazaki took second in 27.11, while Akihide Kawakubo placed third in 27.23.

Meanwhile, Tomoko Hagiwara won the women's 100 free in 54.20, while Misaki Yamaguchi finished second in 54.35. Natsuki Hasegawa checked in third with a 54.47. Takuro Fujii followed in the men's 100 free with a 47.87. Kenta Ito (48.50) and Makoto Itou (48.59) completed the podium.

Shiho Sakai topped the women's 100 back in 56.43, while Sayaka Akase took second in 57.55. Miyuki Takemura placed third in 58.70. Junya Koga cruised to victory in the men's 100 back with a 50.66. Masafumi Yamaguchi (52.04) and Kazuki Watanabe (52.08) finished second and third.

Tomoyo Fukuda snatched the women's 200 IM crown in 2:09.30. Izumi Katou earned second in 2:09.99, while Ayaka Komatsubara finished third in 2:10.59. Hidemasa Sano hit the wall in 1:54.41 for the men's 200 IM triumph. Kosuke Hagino (1:55.08) and Daiya Seto (1:55.45) snared second and third.

Rino Hosoda posted a 57.45 to win the women's 100 fly. Nao Kobayashi (58.70) and Sayaka Nakabou (59.03) placed second and third. Kohei Kawamoto touched out Kazuya Kaneda, 50.71 to 50.75, for the men's 100 fly title. Takashi Tomiyama took third in 51.40.

Aya Takano dominated the women's 400 free in 4:06.49, while Misato Yamazaki touched second in 4:08.53. Natsumi Iwashita wound up third in 4:08.57. Takeshi Matsuda cruised in the men's 400 free as well with a 3:40.34. Syogo Hihara took second in 3:43.69, while Syo Uchida placed third in 3:43.90.

Mina Matsushima captured the women's 50 breast title in 31.13, while Manami Fukuda touched second in 31.21. Hitomi Nose wound up third in 31.32. Naoko Fukudome snatched the women's 200 breast title in 2:19.80, while Satomi Suzuki took second in 2:20.95. Mio Motegi earned third in 2:20.99.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x