Florida State Seniors Celebrate with Big Win over Gardner-Webb

florida state fsu seminoles dive start race
Photo Courtesy: Ross Obley / Florida State Athletics

The No.16/22 Florida State swimming and diving teams defeated Gardner-Webb on a chilly Saturday afternoon at the Morcom Aquatics Center on senior day.

The No. 16 men downed the Bulldogs 188-90, moving to 4-0, 1-0 ACC on the season. The 22nd-ranked women won 226-48 (2-1-1, 0-1 ACC).

“Today was all about our seniors,” Florida State head coach Neal Studd said. “Given what they’ve all been through this year, it was very special we got the opportunity to celebrate them. I am very proud of them and what they’ve done here at Florida State both in and out of the pool. They’re a tremendous group of student-athletes.”

The women were victorious in 13 events, all of which were sweeps.

The all-freshmen team of Jaden Herbet, Zsofia Kurdi, Jenny Halden and Gabrianna Banks won the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:45.72, just ahead of the all-senior team of Emma Terebo, Kile Carriger, Elise Olsen and Rebecca Moyinhan (1:45.98) in second place.

Freshman Sydney Cole (10:36.14), junior Stephanie Holmes (10:40.71) along with Ashley Zettle (11:02.66) were first, second and third in the 1000 free, while junior Hannah Womer (1:51.46) freshman Phoebe Griffiths (1:52.23) and junior Maddie McDonald (1:53.62) followed with a sweep of the 200 free.

Sophomore Tania Quaglieri won the 100 back with a time of 56.60, ahead of Cohen (57.77) in second and Halden (58.59) in third. Womer followed with her second victory, touching with a time of 1:02.38 in the 100 breast, followed by junior Katherine Baker (1:03.63) in second and junior Madison Blakesley (1:08.25) in third.

Kurdi (24.01), Quaglieri (24.12) and Banks (24.34) swept the 50 free and after the break, Moynihan (51.46), Kurdi (52.42) and Griffiths (53.73) placed first, second and third in the 100 free. Cole won her second event of the day, claiming the 200 back (2:06.76) ahead of Herbet (2:07.70) and junior Maggie Emary (2:09.08).

Baker led wire-to-wire in the 200 breast, touching with a time of 2:18.43. Carriger (2:24.60) followed in second and freshman Ginevra Molino (2:27.48) was third. Sophomore Elizabeth Harris was the winner in the 500 free (5:13.51), Holmes (5:18.50) the runner-up and Zettle (5:21.88) placed third.

Florida State was led by freshman Pia Murray in the 100 fly (57.26) followed by sophomore Sydney VanOvermeiren (58.97) in second and Harris (59.59) in third, on short rest.

After the final break, FSU swept the 200 IM, led by VanOvermeiren (2:06.33) followed by Molino (2:07.73) and Murray (2:10.13). FSU closed out the meet with a victory in the 200 free relay behind Halden, Quaglieri, Womer and Kurdi with a time of 1:36.03.

The men’s team won 12 events, led by freshman Mason Herbet and sophomore Nick Vance, who each won two individual races.

Herbet won the 200 free (1:41.17) and 100 free (45.62), while Vance took home the 200 breast (2:04.38) and 100 fly (49.38). Seniors Jackson Lucas and Paxton Rhoads along with freshman Rush Clark and Herbet won the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:32.21 to start the meet.

Freshman Will Hoogenboom (9:44.57) and sophomore Cam Taddonio (9:51.23) then took first and second place in the 1000 free. Taddonio later won his first collegiate event, touching first in the 500 free with a time of 4:43.78.

Senior Jackson Seith won the 100 breast with a time of 57.39 ahead of sophomore Nevada Wood (57.64) in second. Florida State was first and second in the 50 free, led by junior Jakub Ksiazek (20.81), followed by his classmate Izaak Bastian (21.48).

After the Noles went one-two in the 100 free, Lucas was the winner in the 200 back with a time of 1:53.77. FSU ended the meet with a win in the 200 free relay behind Ksiazek, Quirie, Herbet and Rhoads with a mark of 1:24.24.

— The above press release was posted by Swimming World in conjunction with the school. For press releases and advertising inquiries please contact Advertising@SwimmingWorld.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.