2019 Speedo Sectionals Gainesville: Kieran Smith, Vanessa Pearl, Emma Weyant Shine

Kieran Smith; Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

The 2019 Speedo Sectionals in Gainesville continued today with the second day of competition. Events included the 200 free, 100 breast, 50 back, 100 fly, 400 IM, and the 800 free relay. Emma Weyant and Kieran Smith continued their winnings streaks from the night before Gator Swim Club proved to dominate the meet with their several event winners and highest men’s and women’s team score. 

Women’s 200 Free 

Sarasota’s Emma Weyant kicked off night two in Gainesville with over a one-second drop to win the women’s 200 free in a 2:01.96. Weyant is no stranger to first place, as she won the women’s 1500 free just last night. 

Blue Dolfin’s Micayla Cronk touched close behind Weyant to place second with a 2:02.09. Placing third was Gator’s Isabella Garofalo with a 2:02.50.    

Gator Swim Club dominated the rest of the top eight, with finishers including Unattached Ella Bathurst (2:03.48), Gator’s Nikki Miller (2:03.53), Gator’s Savanna Faulconer (2:03.57), Gator’s Talia Bates (2:03.78), and Gator’s Kelly Fertel (2:05.79). 

Men’s 200 Free 

Coming in first place for the men from Gator Swim Club was Andrea D’Arrigo with a 1:50.67, dropping almost 4 seconds. 

.4 behind D’Arrigo was teammate Gerry Quinn with a 1:50.71. Bringing up third was Saint Petersburg’s Lukas Cote in a 1:53.11. 

It was a close race for the rest of the top eight, with all competitors finishing within tenths of a second of each other. Finishers included Gator’s Julian Hill (1:53.15), Unattached Alfonso Mestre (1:53.19), Gator’s Matthew Anderson (1:53.31), Gator’s Peyton Werner (1:53.38), Unattached Dakota Mahaffey (1:53.49). 

Women’s 100 Breast 

Swimming unattached, Vanessa Pearl brought home the win in the women’s 100 breast with a 1:10.34 and a half-second drop. Pearl beat out the next closest in the field by almost two seconds. 

Coming in second place was Blue Dolfin’s Taylor Grabenhorst in a 1:12.12. Third place went to Bolles’ Madison Koutavas with a 1:13.34. 

Bolles’ Carly Schwab (1:13.53), Gator’s Adrianna Deboer (1:13.55), Bolles’ Anna Moore (1:14.10), Area Tallahassee’s Saige Kemeny (1:14.77), and Sarasota’s Gracie Weyant (1:14.96) rounded out the top eight. 

Men’s 100 Breast 

Marco Guarente, swimming unattached, placed first in the men’s 100 breast with a three-second drop, touching the wall in a 1:02.81.

Swimming unattached, Grant Sanders touched second with a 1:03.87. Tide’s Jared Pike placed third with a 1:04.00. 

Tampa Elite’s Brett Saunders (1:05.52), Unattached Thomas Nagle (1:06.03), Bolles’ Colbi Lopez Miro (1:06.28), Club Seminole’s Juan Sequera (1:06.90), and T2’s Andrew Garner (1:06.91) completed the top eight. 

Women’s 50 Back 

Gator’s Caitlin Brooks blew away the field in this short race, dropping time and touching the wall for a 28.67. 

Swimming unattached, Ella Bathurst placed second with a 30.03. Azura Florida’s Carmen Marquez clocked in at third in a 30.22. 

Gator’s Emma Bell (30.26), Eagle’s Erika Pelaez (30.46), Unattached Rosie Zavaros (30.55), East Coast Aquatic Club’s Megan Murphy (31.19) and CANE’s Alaina Skellett (30.49) rounded out the top eight. 

Men’s 50 Back 

Swimming unattached, Dakota Mahaffey edged out his competitors for first place with a 26.44 and over a half-second drop. 

Ethan Beach, unattached, brought up second place with a 26.53. YMCA of Central Florida’s Conor Lynch placed third with a 26.79. 

Gator’s Bayley Main (27.09), Unattached Yeziel Morales (27.17), Seminole’s Dawson Joyce (27.39), United Swim Club’s Hayden Kwan (27.68), and Flood Aquatics’ Joshua Zuchowski (27.69) composed the top eight. 

Women’s 100 Fly 

Gator’s Talia Bates clocked in at a 1:00.75, earning her the spot of first place in the women’s 100 fly. 

Swim Florida’s Madeline Burt finished second in a 1:03.09. Tampa Elite’s Alexis Mulvihill brought up third in a 1:02.17. 

It was a tight race for the rest of the top eight. Finishers included Highlander’s Caroline Cooper (1:02.30), Planet Swim’s Sara Stotler (1:02.85), Blue Dolfin’s Abigail Gibbons (1:03.03), Team Velocity’s Bella Answeeney (1:03.04), and East Coast Aquatic Club’s Madison Cummings (1:03.05). 

Men’s 100 Fly

Once again, Gator’s took the win with William Davis, clocking in at a 54.12 with almost a two-second drop. 

Finishing in second place was teammate Willie Davis with a 55.09. Third place went to Episcopal AmberJax’s Sterling Crane with a 55.23.  

Gator’s Tomas Peribonio (55.89), Azura Florida’s Gabriel Araya (56.20), Episcopal AmberJax’s Jace Crawford (56.32), Gator’s Alec Dawson (56.64), and Gator’s Nicholas Hackett (57.24) rounded out the top eight. 

Women’s 400 IM 

Sarasota’s Emma Weyant was back again to defend her winning streak, this time in the 400 IM. Weyant clocked in at a 4:44.12, dropping almost 4 seconds and obtaining her third win of the meet. 

Swimming Unattached, Vanessa Pearl placed second with a 4:49.64, after just coming off a victory in the 100 breaststroke a few events before. Gator’s Savanna Faulconer finished third with a 4:50.44. 

Gator’s Kelly Fertel (4:50.97), South Florida’s Kathleen Golding (4:52.51), Unattached Rosie Zavaros (4:59.14), Sarasota’s Michaela Mattes (5:03.38) and Unattached Ella Martinez (5:06.33) completed the top eight. 

Men’s 400 IM 

Dropping a whopping 13.5 seconds was Ridgefield’s Kieran Smith. Smith clocked in at a 4:17.26 and won the event by over 10 seconds. Just last night he dropped 14 seconds to win the 800 free. 

Coming in second was unattached Miguel Cancel with a 4:27.48. Unattached Grant Sanders took third with a 4:31.89. 

Gator’s Nicholas Sweetser (4:33.09), Azura Florida’s Matheo Mateos (4:34.17), Bolles’ John Vandeusen (4:35.34), Tampa Elite’s Brett Saunders (4:35.68), and Flood Aquatics’ Joshua Zuchowski (4:36.29) completed the top eight. 

Women’s 800 Free Relay 

Sarasota’s (A) Emma Weyant, Savannah Barr, Addison Sauickie, and Michaela Mattes dominated the field by 12 seconds and brought home the gold with a 8:25.04 and two-second drop. 

Bolles’ Megan McGrath, Nicole Sowell, Victoria Ortiz, and Leah Degeorge placed second with an 8:37.53. Blue Dolfin’s (A) Micayla Cronk, Julia Mauter, Isabella Bishop and Carlie Rose brought up third with an 8:40.19. 

Gator Swim Club (8:41.56), Swim Florida (8:41.94), Sarasota (B) (8:45.29), South Florida Aquatic Club (8:49.18), Blue Dolfins (B) (8:56.66) rounded out the top eight 800 free relays. 

Men’s 800 Free Relay 

Gator Swim Club added to their wins for the night with the relay of Nicholas Sweetser, Nicholas Eunice, Trevor McGovern, and Julian Hill placing first with a 7:44.40 and over four-second drop. 

Metro Aquatic Club of Miami’s Andres Wong, Carlos Nava, Adrian Aguilar, and Brandon Vives placed second with a 7:51.11. Placing third was Bolles’ Daniel Bowen, Chance Conde, Yrenco Ramon Garcia Nohra and Ethan Thomas with a 7:55.19. 

Swim Florida (7:55.98), South Florida Aquatic Club (8:00.21), Tampa Bay Aquatic Club (8:02.47), T2 Aquatics (8:02.91), and Sarasota Sharks (8:03.07) rounded out the final top eight of the night. 


Competition will continue tomorrow at 9 a.m., with day three events including the 100 back, 50 breast, 50 fly, 200 IM, 50 free, and 400 free. 


Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x