Inge Dekker On the Double Again at KNZB Challenger Time Trial

DODRECHT, The Netherlands, July 12. THE two-day KNZB Challenger came to a close with another sprint double from Inge Dekker. The meet took place in between sessions of the European Junior Championship in The Netherlands.

Dekker’s first win of the day came in the women’s 50-meter fly. She raced to a 25.51, just outside of her third-ranked season best of 25.50 from the Sette Colli Trophy meet. Elinore de Jong took second in 27.21, while Marrit Steenbergen set a Dutch junior record with a 27.96 for third.

Then, Dekker won the women’s 100-meter free in 54.65. That’s also close to a season best, which is currently a 54.37 from the Eindhoven Swim Cup that stands 20th in the world rankings. Maud van der Meer took second in 54.97 this afternoon, while Esmee Vermeulen touched third in 55.32. Marlou van der Kulk set an S14 Paralympic world record with an 18th-place 59.77.

Jesse Puts had a tremendous swim in the men’s 50-meter backstroke as he won in 25.17. That pushed him into a tie for 17th in the world with Kosuke Hagino and David Plummer. Bastiaan Lijesen took second this afternoon in 25.96 with Arjan Hanse taking third in 28.01.

Moniek Nijhuis powered through the women’s 100-meter breaststroke finale with a 1:08.35 for the win. Anouk Elzerman touched second in 1:09.48 with Tes Schouten taking third in the timed final event with a 1:14.25. Bram Dekker earned the men’s 100-meter breast crown in 1:01.65. Sebas van Lith (1:02.80) and Arno Kamminga (1:04.36) rounded out the top three.

KNZB went 1-2-3 in the men’s 200-meter IM as Sebas van Lith won in 2:02.14 and Mike Marissen took a close second in 2:02.26. Lucas Greven rounded out the top three in 2:07.31 for the host squad. Just two people competed in the men’s 400-meter free with Ferry Weertman beating Maarten Brzoskowski, 3:52.03 to 3:54.46.

Arjan Hanse topped the men’s 200-meter back in 2:12.00 with Ruben Griffioen taking second in 2:15.33. Marc Evers set the S14 Paralympic world record with a third-place time of 2:16.77. Steven Nonnekes won the men’s 50-meter fly in 25.43 with Tom Lommers and Yamiko Steenhoek tying for second with 25.59s. David Kuipers swam by himself in the men’s 200-meter fly with a 2:33.86.

Mike Marissen won the men’s 100-meter free in 50.78, while Steven Nonnekes placed second in 51.46. Ferry Weertman clinched third in 52.07.

Laura van Engelen chased down the top time in the women’s 400-meter freestyle with a 4:37.62, while Shireen Post placed second in the middle distance event with a 4:48.54. Marije Oosterhuis placed third in 4:57.73. In another sparsely-contested swim, Annemarie Worst won the women’s 200-meter back in 2:17.37. Robin Neumann (2:20.54) and Claris de Vries (2:25.02) were the only other swimmers in the heat.

Marjolein Delno snagged the women’s 400-meter IM title in 4:55.24 with Cynthia Verkaik taking second in 5:01.45. Magda Toeters finished third in 5:35.11. Maaike de Waard captured the women’s 50-meter back in 28.89 with Annemarie Worst posting a second-place 30.00. Esmee Bos clinched third overall in 30.11. Kinge Zandringa was the only person swimming in the women’s 200-meter fly with a 2:34.28.

Comments Off on Inge Dekker On the Double Again at KNZB Challenger Time Trial

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue