Camryn Forbes, Maxwell McHugh Take Down National Marks on Night 3 of YMCA Nationals

Photo Courtesy: Mike Comer/

Camryn Forbes started night three of YMCA Nationals off with a bang, taking four tenths off her own National record in the 100 backstroke. The Butler swimmer clocked a 1:02.14, faster than her 2015 time of 1:02.54. Joining her under the old mark was North Shore’s Kaitlin Harty in 1:02.32. Edwardsville’s Bailey Grinter clocked a 1:02.91 for third.

Another National record went down in the men’s 50 breaststroke. Maxwell McHugh surged ahead of the field. The 16 year old from Door County was the only swimmer under 30. Tonight he touched in 28.37, after a 28.06 this morning. The old record stood at 28.53, swum in 2014. Down East’s Cooper Holmes earned second in 30.15 and Logan Bolesta of Frederick was third in 30.16.

There was a tight finish in the men’s 100 backstroke. Coffman’s Hank Siefert edged Upper Main Line’s Brian McKenrick 58.05 to 58.12 for the title. Jake Kealy of Wilton was just behind in 58.22.

Montclair’s Cha O’Leary held onto her top seed and took off another few tenths to win the women’s 50 breaststroke. The 18 year old touched in 33.00. Over a half second behind was Butler’s Brooke Zukowski with a 33.58. Madison Blakesley of Michiana snagged bronze in 33.67.

York’s Leah Braswell won the women’s 400 IM with a 4:53.62. It was a battle for second. Sarah Hardy of Metuchen out touched Northwest’s Morgan Tacik 4:56.57 to 4:56.77.

Wilton teammates took the top two spots in the men’s 400 IM. Robby Giller finished just shy of the 4:26.57 National record swum last year. Giller touched in 4:26.69 while teammate James Mostofi swam a 4:35.80. Tyler Pidde of Rock River was third (4:38.90).

Hickory’s Faith Hefner took top honors in the women’s 200 freestyle tonight. The 15 year old clocked a 2:03.15. In her second swim of the night, Braswell finished second in 2:04.53 and Fanwood Scotch Plains’ Marlise Moesch grabbed bronze in 2:04.95.

Countryside’s Grant House destroyed the field in the men’s 200 freestyle. His winning time of 1:52.88 was .13 shy of Tim Phillips‘ 2009 National record. In second tonight was Red Bank’s Christopher Smith (1:54.27). On his heels was Wilton’s Hugo Sykes (1:55.02).

Butler’s Forbes, Zukowsi, Mallory Marzolf, and Taylor Petrak won the women’s 200 medley relay in 1:57.36. Upper Main Line took home the men’s title as Brendan BurnsBrian McKenrickBilly Beard, and Sam Hawke combined for a 1:46.83.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x