Abbey Weitzeil Dominates 100 Free in First Night of Santa Clarita Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Maddie Kyler

The Santa Clarita Speedo Sectionals hosted by Canyons Aquatic Club features more than 750 swimmers from the California/Nevada LSCs. The first night of competition featured the host team’s superstar Abby Weitzeil in the 100 meter freestyle, winning by over two seconds in 54.56 (just off her seed time of 54.38). This looks like a great tune-up leading up to Kazan in just a couple weeks, and was just 0.03 behind her second-place finish at the World University Games eleven days ago.

Behind Canyons’ Weitzeil were sixteen-year-old Kenisha Liu of Brea Aquatics (57.73) and Jacqueline Taylor (unattached, 57.40). Results show Terrapins’ sixteen-year-old Malorie Han winning the B-Final in 53.55. After finishing ninth in the preliminaries with a personal best of 58.01, this is probably an unusual touchpad error.

The boys’ event featured a photo-finish between Clovis’s Carl Weigley (51.35), Los Angeles Swim Club’s Luke Burton (51.49), and former Cal Bear Shayne Fleming representing De Anza Cupertino Aquatics (51.58). Stanford committ Cole Cogswell of the host team finished fourth in 51.95.

The girls’ 200 breast A-final averaged just 16 years old. Quicksilver Swimming’s Morgan McKennan took the top spot (2:35.05) ahead of Temecula Swim Club’s Lauren Wood (2:35.76) and Marin’s Halle Morris (2:35.81).

UNLV’s Boris Kulizhnikov (unattached, 2:16.73) led a fast group of men. Duke/Canyons Aquatics standout Peter Kropp finished second (2:17.06) in a new personal best. UCSD’s Zachary Yong touched third (2:19.20).

The girls’ 200 butterfly A-finalists also average 16 years old. Royal’s Amy Okada won in 2:15.31 with a short turnaround from the 100 freestyle A-final. She was followed by young Covina Aquatics teammates Catherine Sanchez (2:15.95) and Gisel Olvera (2:17.84).

UCSB’s Kevin Mendoza (2:04.60) won the boys’ event in another photo finish. Only 0.03 behind were FAST Swimming’s Bobby Guerra and PASA’s Garret Chin tied at 2:04.63.

Riley Spitser of BFST posted a steady 17.19.92 to win the girls’ 1500 freestyle by over fifteen seconds. Caroline Lepesant of PASA (17.35.08) and Meghan Merlihan of NOVA (17.42.72) finished second and third.

The boys’ 800 freestyle featured a very young field, which is definitely a trend in this sectionals meet. Tanner Olmos (Clovis, 8:22.48) dropped over ten seconds from his seed to win in 8:22.48. Michael Lee (La Mirada, 8:30.20) finished second and Tom Schab (Clovis, 8:31.30) was third.

2015 Santa Clarita Speedo Sectionals, Day One – Results

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x