2021 ISHOF Specialty Award To Be Presented During Honoree Induction October 9, 2021 – Update


This year’s ISHOF Specialty Award Recipient:

  • Eddie Reese — 2021 ISHOF Lifetime Achievement Award


    Photo Courtesy: Swimming World Magazine

    The ISHOF Lifetime Achievement Award is only giving when ISHOF deems someone worthy.  The award has only been given out four other times in ISHOF’s 56 year history.   The ISHOF Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes the lifetime dedication and achievements from someone in the swimming/aquatics community.

    Coach Reese is the perfect selection for this award, particularly after his record breaking NCAA DI Championships win in 2021. Coach Reese had just won his un-precedented 15th National Championship at the University of Texas.  After flirting with the idea of retirement,  Reese decided there was still more he wanted to achieve with his group of guys.  His decision to continue coaching will just add to lifetime achievements and enhance this award.

    Reese will begin the 2021-2022 season, which will be his 44th as the Longhorns’ head coach.  The school will be seeking back-to-back national championships after earning a 27-point victory over California in March. Texas won the championship despite winning no individual swimming events at the meet and just two events overall, the 800 free relay and 1-meter diving.

    Reese has won more NCAA team championships than any other swim coach, with wins in 1981, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2010, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2021. Reese has coached 22 Olympic gold medalists and been the head coach of the U.S. men’s Olympic team in 1992, 2004 and 2008. He was an assistant coach on the U.S. Olympic team in 1996, 2000 and 2012. Three swimmers under his current tutelage qualified for the 2021 U.S. Olympic team, including Townley HaasDrew Kibler and Gunnar Bentz, while three others missed the team by one spot.

In addition, this year, former Texas Longhorn, Brendan Hansen will be inducted as an 2021 Honor Swimmer on Saturday night, October 9, 20021 and will be inducted by his coach, the one and only, Eddie Reese.

Additional Awards During 56th Annual Hall of Fame Honoree Weekend

2021 Paragon Awards

Pentair Logo
“For more than 20 years now, Pentair has been honored to be associated with the International Swimming Hall of Fame in recognizing leaders in the aquatic industry who play a prominent role in the promotion of aquatics with the Paragon Awards”, said Jim Drozdowski, Institutional Aquatics Sales Manager for Pentair Aquatic Systems.

“The annual Paragon Awards is a spectacular event that celebrates the unsung heroes who make competitive and recreational aquatics possible.  These are the people who save lives, promote water safety, and further aquatic education around the world.  We are so proud to recognize these important people at the International Swimming Hall of Fame through the sponsorship of Pentair every year,” said ISHOF President/CEO Brent Rutemiller.

2020 Paragon Award Recipients:

Competitive Swimming:  Teri McKeever
Water Polo:  Lynn Comer Kachmarik
Competitive Diving: Dave Burgering
Artistic Swimming: Betty Hazle


The International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) museum opened its doors to the public in December of 1968 in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. That same year, the Fédération Internationale de Natation (FINA) – the governing body for Olympic aquatic sports – designated the ISHOF museum as the “Official Repository for Aquatic History”.   In 2018, Sports Publications Inc, publisher of Swimming World Magazine and its multi-media platforms, merged with ISHOF to expand the museum’s reach and impact.  Today, ISHOF’s vision is to be the global focal point for recording and sharing the history of aquatics, promoting swimming as an essential life-skill, and developing educational programs and events related to water sports.  Show your support for the sport of swimming by becoming a member of ISHOF.

About the International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) & Masters (MISHOF) Induction Weekend:

The International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) & Masters Induction Ceremony is shaping up to be a star-studded weekend with ISHOF Honoree and Sullivan Award Winner, Debbie Meyer, and double Olympic gold-medalist and everyone’s favorite Olympic swimming broadcaster, Rowdy Gaines acting as co-emcees and hosts of the induction with multiple events spread out over two days in beautiful Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Make your plans now to attend the weekend of October 8-9, 2021!  ISHOF Members can purchase the Complete Weekend Package (see below) and save! (Get info on membership here.) Can’t attend the event? Donate to ISHOF to support our honorees.

This year’s International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) Honorees include:

HONOR SWIMMERSBrendan Hansen (USA),  Rebecca Soni (USA),


HONOR COACH: David Marsh (USA)



This year’s (MISHOF) Master’s International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) Honorees include:


HONOR DIVER: David Cotton (USA)

HONOR COACH: Kerry O’Brien (USA)


The Induction Weekend Schedule

Saturday, October 9, 2021

Honoree Induction Day Luncheon – Meet Rowdy Gaines and go on a behind the scenes tour of the Aquatic Complex construction

  • 11:30-12:30 pm Luncheon Followed By Tour

Official 56th Annual International Swimming Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner

    • 5:30 pm VIP Reception
    • 6:30 –10:00 pm Induction Ceremony & Dinner

Purchase Your Tickets Here:




10 Person Table $3,500 and $5,000 (Prime location) options


Host Hotel: Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa

Upscale retreat with private beach access, two pools, four restaurants, full service spa and oceanside bar. Location of the Saturday evening induction ceremony. ¼ mile south of the International Swimming Hall of Fame.

3030 Holiday Drive, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316 (954) 525-4000

Special ISHOF Guest Rate of $259 per night

Book your group rate for International Swimming Hall of Fame


Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach

440 Seabreeze Blvd., Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316 (954) 524-8733

Special ISHOF Guest Rate of $169 per night

Honoree Ceremony October 9, 2021
Start Date: Wednesday, October 7, 2021
End Date: Tuesday, October 12, 2021
Last Day to Book: Friday, September 15, 2021

Book your group rate for Honoree Ceremony October 2021

Questions: contact Meg Keller-Marvin at meg@ishof.org or 570-594-4367

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
4 years ago


Would love your thoughts, please comment.x