Xavier Hires Rathman

CINCINNATI – George Rathman has been named head coach of Xavier men’s and women’s swimming. He replaces Jerry Frentsos, who recently resigned. Rathman, 31, comes to Xavier with 18 years

Day 3: 1997 Pan Pacific Championships

FUKUOKA, Japan – Jenny Thompson brought to 17 the number of gold medals she’s won in Pan Pacific competition by winning 2 more Tuesday. She won the 100m butterfly, then

Day 2: 1997 Pan Pacific Championships

FUKUOKA, Japan – Jenny Thompson collected her 14th and 15th career Pan Pacific gold medals as American swimmers won 5 of 8 events Monday. Australia added 3 more to the

Day 1: 1997 Pan Pacific Championships

FUKUOKA, Japan – Olympic champion Susan O’Neill of Australia outswam a pair of Americans in the women’s 200m butterfly, leading her country to five gold medals on Sunday. The Americans


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Mike Moran, chief spokesman for the U.S. Olympic Committee for 18 years, was appointed an assistant executive director as part of a broad restructuring of the

Skins Event in Sydney

SYDNEY – Irish triple Olympic gold medalist swimmer Michelle Smith will compete in a lucrative one-day “skins” event in Sydney on August 30. Australians Susan O’Neill and Samantha Riley, American

Women’s Global Challenge

NEW YORK – The accomplishments of women at the 1996 Olympic Games have inspired the Women’s Global Challenge, an international sports competition that will feature top female athletes in 8

USOC and NBC Agreement

NEW YORK – General Motors announced a major, multiyear sponsorship deal with the U.S. Olympic Committee and NBC. The agreement, which will run from 1998-2008, sets a sports sponsorship record,

Day 7: 1997 Phillips 66 National Championships

Men’s 1500m freestyle: Chad Carvin, who missed the 1996 Olympic Trials with cardiomyopathy — a virus that attacks the heart muscle — won the 1500m freestyle in 15:15.63. Carvin added

Day 6: Phillips 66 National Championships

Women’s 800m freestyle: Brooke Bennett, the 1996 Olympic gold medalist in this event, won in a cool 8:28.79. Diana Munz’s time of 8:36.26 was fast enough for second. Munz has