Rockford, Seaholm, East Grand Rapids Crowned Michigan Lower Peninsula Girls High School State Champs

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website

The 2016 Michigan Girls Lower Peninsula High School season wrapped up this weekend with the Division 1, 2, and 3 state championships. Division 1 and Division 2 action featured some tight team scores while East Grand Rapids ran away with the Division 3 title as a number of state records were set.

Division 1

Rockford ended the night with 249 points, just ten more than Farmington Hills Mercy and 17.5 more than Saline.

Rockford won the 200 freestyle relay in 1:34.37 with the team of Hunter IgnasiakSydney McDowell, Meegan Snyman, and Peyton Reyburn. McDowell picked up an individual victory in the 100 breast with her 1:01.94.

Farmington Hills Mercy finished one-two in the 100 backstroke with Rockford’s Morgan Kraus (55.42) snagging third place points. Katie Minnich (54.41) and Aliana Skellett (54.94) earned gold and silver.

Ann Arbor Skyline’s Emma Cleason took home two state titles with a 2:00.86 in the 200 IM and a 54.28 in the 100 butterfly. A tight battle followed her in the 200 IM with Grand Haven’s Kathryn Ackerman taking runner up honors in 2:01.64 and Saline’s Lizzy Spears finishing third in 2:01.78. Morgan Kraus of Rockford was the 100 butterfly runner up (55.12). Cleason’s teammate Georgia Mosher stopped the clock in 4:50.08 to win the 500 freestyle.

Saline got a huge victory from senior Camryn McPherson on the one meter board with a score of 509.50. Sophomore Maddie Luther won the 200 freestyle in 1:48.34. Northville’s Laura Westphal was second with a 1:49.06. Rockford’s Peyron Rayburn picked up some crucial points with her third place time of 1:49.06.

Brighton’s Taylor Seaman won the 50 freestyle in 22.86 and the 100 in 49.64.

Northville’s Sophia TuinmanErin SzaraKelsey Macaddino, and Laura Westphal took home the 200 medley relay title in 1:43.10. Saline’s Luther, Johanna JorgensonMaddy Murphy, and Spears combined for a 400 freestyle victory for Saline in 3:27.54.

Full results available here.

Division 2

The Seaholm team scored 287.5 points to runner up Dexter’s 250.

Seaholm won the first two realys while Dexter claimed the third. In a commanding 1:43.98 Nichole McMasterAllie RussellLinnea Anderson, and Haley Dolan won the 200 medley relay. Anderson, Russel, Hannah Erickson, and Dolan combined for a 1:35.49 in the 200 freestyle relay. Dexter ran away with the 400 freestyle relay as Amelia KinnardGrace KacmarekSarah Zofchak, and Annette Schultz posted a 3:32.94.

Dexter’s Schultz repeated as 100 and 200 freestyle state champion. She recorded a 50.30 in the 100 and a 1:48.27 in the 200 freestyle to win both by solid margins.

In 2:05.40 Byron Center’s Vicki Postmus won the 200 IM, less than a second ahead of Seaholm’s Allie Russell (2:06.22). Dexter’s Kinnard (2:06.87) finished third.

Seaholm junior Dolan was first to the wall in the 50 freestyle in 23.56. Her fellow junior teammate Anderson was third in 23.94. Midland Dow freshman Claire Newman was sandwiched between the duo in 23.82.

Forest Hills Central’s Anna Hansen won the one meter diving title with 428.25 points. In the next event her teammate Felicity Buchmaier posted a 54.04 to dominate the 100 butterfly. Buchmaier was also victorious in the 100 backstroke in 55.30.

Royal Oak’s Julia Boswell out touched Dexter’s Zofchak 5:05.59 to 5:05.93 in the 500 freestyle. Birmingham Groves’ Charlotte Pierce won the 100 breaststroke with a 1:03.04, just faster than Seaholm’s Russell (1:03.17).

Full results available here.

Division 3

East Grand Rapids put together a dominating performance, tallying 512 points to win the division ahead of Bloomfield Hills Marian’s 364 points.

East Grand Rapids won the first two relays of the meet. In the 200 medley Sydney HigginsIleah DoctorEmma Rao, and Laura Levine set a division record with a 1:44.97, besting Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook’s 1:45.46 from 2008. Doctor, Lexus VanHovenHanna Sanford, and Gabby Higgins beat the school’s own Division 3 state record in the 200 freestyle relay with a 1:33.89. Bloomfield Hills Marian’s Kailyn SwantekMary Kate NodlandLauren Biglin, and Sophia Schott posted a 1:34.70 to also clear the old 1:34.95 mark.

Doctor was a big scorer for the East Grand Rapid champions. The junior set the division record with a 22.73 in the 50 freestyle. Her teammate Higgins finished third in 23.40, in between a Bloomfield Hills Marian duo: second place Schott (23.37) and fourth place Swantek (23.86). Doctor also wrapped up the meet with a second division record, a 1:02.60 in the 100 breaststroke.

Milan High School’s Madelyn Cislo set a state record of her own with a 2:04.62 200 IM, faster than the 2008 record of 2:05.40. Cislo’s teammate Mackenzie Crawford won the one meter diving with 478.30 points.

Two swimmers were quicker than the 100 butterfly Division 3 state record. Ultimately, Notre Dame Prep freshman Rhianna Hensler will get her name in the books with a 56.21. Just .03 behind was Grand Rapid Catholic Central’s Susan LeGrand (56.24).

Biglin dominated the 500 freestyle with a winning 5:03.28. That time came after she narrowly won the 200 freestyle in 1:52.14. She had a quick last 50 to escape Grand Rapids Catholic Central’s Riley Kishman in 1:52.73.

East Grand Rapids’ senior Gabby Higgins (50.70) won the 100 freestyle with Bloomfield Hills Marion’s Schott (50.88) on her heels. Sydney Higgins stepped up to take home the 100 backstroke crown in 56.57.

The meet finished with Bloomfield Hills Marian and East Grand Rapids clearing the Division 3 state record of 3:29.63 established by Bloomfield Hills Marian in prelims. Swantek, Gabby Granata, Biglin, and Schott finished first in 3:27.85. With a 3:28.96 VanHoven, Sanford, Higgins, and Higgins touched second.

Full results are here.

Comments Off on Rockford, Seaholm, East Grand Rapids Crowned Michigan Lower Peninsula Girls High School State Champs

Author: Cathleen Pruden

Cathleen Pruden is a 2016 graduate of Mount Holyoke College and the High School Content Manager at Swimming World. She was a four time All-American and a three time Academic All-American for the Lyons. She grew up swimming in and has also coached in Raleigh, North Carolina. Currently she is the Assistant Coach at Bowdoin College.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here