RCP Tiburon Mile: Chip Peterson, Christine Jennings Win Top Prizes

SwimmingWorld.TV Interviews from RCP Tiburon Mile at Event Landing Page

TIBURON, California, October 17. IN the second event in what has now become a two-day exhibition of swimming held by Bob Placak in Tiburon, Calif., Chip Peterson and Christine Jennings topped the Tiburon Mile races.

Peterson captured the men's title in 22:52, holding off open water stud Thomas Lurz (23:06) for the victory in the 60 degree water. Peterson's navigation superiority led to his victory.

"I had a great race. I knew I was in a great place, and when I noticed them start going another way, I held my line," Peterson told Swimming World open water correspondent Steve Munatones. "Then, I saw that I had the opportunity to breakaway."

Canada's Ryan Cochrane placed third overall in 23:09, while Tunisia's Ous Mellouli grabbed fourth in 23:20 after leading through the bulk of the early part of the race.

The Netherlands' Mads Glaesner (23:47), USA's VincentDonnelly (23:59), USA's Alex Kostich (24:47), USA's Eric Nilsson (25:11), USA's Joshua Charnin-Aker (25:12) and USA's Janardan Burns (25:19) completed the top 10.

Jennings, who has made a recent surge into the world-class ranks of open water, fought off open water stalwarts Melissa Gorman and Chloe Sutton. Jennings won in 24:45, while Australia's Gorman took second in 24:46 and USA's Sutton snared third in 25:02.

"I kind of panicked at the beginning of the race," Jennings told Munatones. "There were so many people, and it was so cold. In the middle of the race, I saw Mel [Gorman] out there and I knew I had to catch her. Praise the Lord, I had the energy to do that."

USA's Emily Brunemann (25:14), Australia's Luane Rowe (25:58), USA's Heidi George (25:32), USA's Catherine Breed (27:20), USA's Olivia Hughes (28:08), USA's Natalie Malicki (28:28) and USA's Kathryn Taylor (28:34) comprised the rest of the top 10.

A total of 657 swimmers were listed in the official results sheet.

Last night, Josh Schneider won the inaugural RCP Tiburon Sprint Classic, which included a winner-take-all $10,000 check.