CSCAA Honors Sam Kendricks, Dan Ross, Terry Ganley, Nic Askew, Sage Hopkins and Victoria Gmelich

Sam Kendricks. Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

The College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) has revealed some of its yearly awards, which span several categories throughout the sport.

The CSCAA  Richard E. Steadman Award was given to announcer Sam Kendricks and Purdue men’s swimming coach Dan Ross, who was announced in March as a recipient.

The Steadman Award is conferred annually to a swimming or diving coach in high school, club, or university ranks who, in the opinion of the International Swimming Hall of Fame, the CSCAA Forum, and the CSCAA, has done the most to spread happiness in Coach Steadman’s beloved sport of swimming and diving.

Kendricks has been away from the pool deck for recent big meets as he is battling cancer.

Here is what the CSCAA wrote about his award:

For nearly a quarter-century Sam Kendricks’ booming baritone voice has become synonymous with college swimming. It is his friendship, approachability, enthusiasm and unbridled positivity, however, that have made Kendricks one of the most likable individuals in the sport. “Sam Kendricks always takes care of himself first,” explained the legendary Eddie Reese, “He is truly a special person.” It is for these reasons that Kendricks, along with Dan Ross are this year’s 2022 CSCAA Richard E. Steadman Award winners. Kendricks will be recognized at the 2023 CSCAA Awards Banquet

Kendricks’ entry into the world of announcing was sudden and unexpected when in 1983, as an undergraduate, he was thrust into the role prior to Texas, UCLA, Florida double dual. His familiarity with the coaches and enthusiasm among swimmers made him a popular choice for announcing duties ever since.

Kendricks’ announcing style is both informed and exciting, and highlighted by his catchphrase “Boom-Shak-a-Laka” reserved for the most-exciting moments. In an interview with Swimming World, Kendricks humbly explained, “Every once in a while we can put together a moment with the crowd that is special” and that such moments, “are special because of what the athletes accomplish.”

Since the early 2000’s Kendricks has been a realtor in Los Alamos, New Mexico. He has twice been voted the “Readers’ Choice” #1 Realtor by the Los Alamos Monitor.

Other CSCAA awards were announced as well. Retiring Minnesota coach Terry Ganley earned the Lifetime Achievement Award. Sage Hopkins was named the Ben Franklin award, which recognizes pioneering individuals whose efforts and innovations best promote the integrity and enhancement of the student-athlete ideal. Victoria Gmelich earned the Charles McCaffree Award, presented to an individual connected to the sport of swimming who has achieved outstanding success outside the pool. Nic Askew earned the National collegiate Scholastic Trophy, which is presented to the coach who has the greatest contribution to swimming as a competitive sport and as a healthful, recreational activity in undergraduate and scholastic education.

Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
T Hill
18 days ago

Congrats to all !! It’s great that folks are being recognized for their contributions to our sport. Sam – maintain your perseverance as you meet the challenges head on.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x