Manuella Lyrio Downs 16-Year-Old Meet Record on Day 1 of 2015 Jose Finkel Trophy

Jul 15, 2015; Toronto, Ontario, CAN; Manuella Lyrio of Brazil reacts after winning the bronze in the women’s 200m freestyle final during the 2015 Pan Am Games at Pan Am Aquatics UTS Centre and Field House. Mandatory Credit: Rob Schumacher-USA TODAY Sports
Photo Courtesy: Rob Schumacher/USA Today Sports Images

Manuella Lyrio downed a 16-year-old meet record in the women’s 200-meter free at the 2015 Jose Finkel Trophy.

Lyrio clocked a top time of 1:58.65, smashing the previous record of 1:59.98 set by Nadejda Tchemezova in 1999.  She just missed her South American and Brazilian record of 1:58.03 from earlier this summer.

Leah Neale took second in 1:58.69, while Larissa Oliveira wound up third in 2:00.72.

Nicolas Oliveira lowered his own meet record in the men’s 200-meter free with a 1:47.41.  That performance downed the 1:48.40 he set back in 2013.

Leonardo De Deus placed second in 1:49.33 with Joao Veras Amorim claiming third in 1:49.42.

Guilherme Guido, the eighth-ranked swimmer in the world in the men’s 100-meter back, crushed the field in the event with a time of 53.36.

That’s just off his South American and Brazilian record of 53.12 from the 2015 Pan American Games, and also just off his meet record of 53.24 from 2009.

Henrique Handa Machado took second in 54.73 with Vitro Guaraldo earning third in 55.03.

Natalia De Luccas earned the title in the women’s 100-meter back with a time of 1:01.57. That was well behind Fabiola Molina’s meet record of 1:00.22 from 2009.

Duane Da Rocha Marce placed second in the finale with a 1:02.00, while Andrea Eliana Berrino claimed third in 1:02.76.

Joanna Maranhao won the women’s 1500-meter free in 16:31.17.  Poliana Okimoto, the Brazilian record holder with a 16:26.90 from 2013 at this meet, took second in 16:35.80.

Viviane Eichelberger rounded out the top three in the distance free with a 16:42.65.

In relay action, Minas’s Lorrane Ferreira (25.52, Daiene Marcal Dias (25.81), Roberta Kamila Albino (25.69) and Daiane Becker (24.59) won the women’s 200-meter medley relay in 1:41.61.

Pinheiros’ Marcelo Chierighini (22.50), Bruno Fratus (21.69), Gabriel Silva Santos (22.11) and Pedro Henrique Silva Spajari (22.07) won the men’s 200-meter medley relay in 1:28.37.

2015 Jose Finkel Trophy: Day 1 – Results

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Regis Aguiar
8 years ago

informação errada o record que era de 1999 a atleta nasceu em 1989

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x