Kyler Van Swol, Samantha Cheverton Capture Meet Records at Geneva Sectionals

Editorial coverage sponsored by SpeedoUSA

GENEVA, Ohio, March 24. THIS weekend's Central Section Speedo Champions Series meet in Geneva, Ohio saw several meet records erased from the books. SwimUtopia streamed the meet LIVE and on-demand via SwimmingWorld.TV. Check out the event coverage page for on-demand race footage from the meet!

The women's 800 meter freestyle kicked off the first night competition. Madeline Tegner of the Oakland Live Y'ers took the win by eight seconds with an 8:54.22. Greater Columbus' Hannah Stevens next took the 200 backstroke win with a 2:15.96, far outdistancing her competition for the title. Joshua Brooks posted a 2:08.21 for the win on the men's side. Kaitlyn Johnson from Lake Erie raced to a 26.38 for the 50 freestyle title, and Ivan Akmentins won the event for the men with a 23.65. Following the sprint came the 1650 freestyle, which North Carolina's Charles Peterson took at a 15:56.98. Dynamo's Kelsey Morgan won the 200 breaststroke by a remarkable six seconds, at a 2:33.57, earning her a US Open cut. Matt Pacholczyk took the breaststroke win for the men, at a 2:19.36.

The second night of competition started with a new meet record in the women's 200 freestyle. Samantha Cheverton stopped the clock at a 2:00.25 for the win. Peterson followed his mile on the first night with the men's 200 backstroke title, racing to a 1:54.01 final time. Plymouth's Miranda Tucker won the 100 butterfly in a 1:01.97. Kyler Van Swol posted a new meet record in the event on the men's side, winning the race by nearly three seconds, and hitting the wall at a 53.72. Marie Georger broke the 5-minute barrier in the women's 400 IM, winning the event title with a 4:57.43. Joshua Brooks took the distance medley event for the men with a 4:29.75.

Hannah Stevens kicked off the third night of competition with a win in the women's 100 backstroke. Her 1:02.94 was a full second under the US Open standard. William Raynor posted a 57.43 for the 100 backstroke win on the men's side. Una's Hannah Boyd won the 400 freestyle at a 4:18.27, while Peterson added to his title collection with another win in the event, at a 4:01.72. 100 butterfly winner Tucker also captured the 100 breaststroke title, winning with a 1:12.20. Lindenwood's Mateusz Pacholczyk touched the wall with a 1:03.73 for the men's 100 breaststroke title. Tegner won her second individual title in the 200 butterfly, with a 2:15.39. Van Swol won the men's 200 butterfly by a full two seconds, at a 2:03.44.

The final night of competition started with Tegner taking her third title in the 200 IM with a 2:18.51. 400 IM winner Brooks asserted his medley dominance, finishing first with a 2:07.95. Mason Manta Ray Zoe Thatcher won the women's 1500 freestyle in a 17:06.85, then Peterson added another distance title to his collection with the 800 freestyle win at an 8:23.56.