How Felix Aubock Refocused in Time for 1650 Free Triumph (VIDEO INTERVIEW)


Editorial content for the 2019 NCAA DI Championship coverage is sponsored by See full event coverage. SwimOutlet-Logo

Michigan’s Felix Aubock entered the 500 free as top seed in the event but shockingly failed to score. He bounced back in a major way Saturday evening as he captured the NCAA title in the 1650 free, rattling the NCAA record in the process.

After the race, Aubock explained how he moved past the big disappointment from Friday and what he was thinking as he awaited his chance at redemption. Aubock also discussed how he managed the race to stay with the field and then pull away for his title shot.

Recap from 1650 free:

Michigan junior Felix Aubock took control early in the 1650 free on the final night of the 2019 NCAA Division I Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships in Austin, Texas. Throughout the race, Aubock was creeping further and further below NCAA record pace. Aubock did not have enough left over the final 100 to get the record but he swam a 14:23.09 to win his first ever NCAA individual title.

Aubock was second in 2017 and second in 2018 in this event. He was third in the 500 in 2017 and second in 2018. This season he was the favorite to win the 500 but he failed to make finals, placing 35th. Aubock finally put those demons behind him and won his first individual title for Michigan in this event. Aubock was off his best time of 14:22.88 as he remains the third fastest performer ever in this event.

Indiana freshman Michael Brinegar (14:27.50) gave Aubock a race early as he ended up with the runner-up spot for the Hoosiers.

Cal continued to pick up valuable points as Nick Norman (14:32.12) and Sean Grieshop (14:35.82) placed third and fourth. Grieshop was swimming in the earlier heats as he had the fastest time this afternoon.

There were a lot of fast times out of the afternoon heats with Louisville’s Marcelo Acosta (14:38.92), Stanford’s True Sweetser (14:39.07) and Georgia’s Walker Higgins (14:39.52) all placed in the top eight.

Virginia’s Brendan Casey (14:38.42) placed fourth in the fastest seeded heat and he finished fifth overall.

Michigan now has nine NCAA titles in this event. Aubock joins the likes of Fritz Myers (1957), Marcel Wouda (1993), Tom Dolan (1995, 96), Chris Thompson (2001), Peter Vanderkaay (2004) and Connor Jaeger (2013, 14) as winners of the event for the Wolverines.

Michigan now has the second most 1650 NCAA titles as they are tied with Ohio State and sit behind USC (14).