World News

Jennie Johansson, Sarah Sjostrom Put on Show At Swedish Nationals

Published:July 6, 2013

Sarah Sjostrom
Courtesy of: Kees-Jan van Overbeeke/Eindhoven Swim Cup
HALMSTAD, Sweden, July 6. THE Swedish National Championships in Halmstad produced another handful of world-class times with Jennie Johansson and Sarah Sjostrom producing some serious speed this evening.

Jennie Johansson, who set the Swedish record in April with a 1:06.68 at Aussie Nationals to rank fifth in the world, popped a meet record tonight in the women's 100-meter breaststroke with a 1:07.13 for the win. That performance downed the 1:07.27 set by Emma Igelstrom from more than a decade ago in 2002, and continues to cement Johansson as the top Swedish breaststroker in history. Joline Hostman touched second in 1:08.48, while Rebecca Ejdervik claimed third in 1:09.67.

Sarah Sjostrom jumped to fourth in the world rankings in the women's 50-meter fly with a sweltering 25.83. She trails only Jeanette Ottesen Gray (25.56), Alicia Coutts (25.78) and Ranomi Kromowidjojo (25.80) in the rankings this year. That's a good position to be in heading into the final stretch before the FINA World Championships. Rebecka Palm (26.80) and Magdalena Kuras (26.92) completed the top three.

Mattias Carlsson just missed the meet record in the men's 200-meter back with a 2:01.69. That swim came up shy of Kristian Kron's 2:01.63 from 2011. Simon Sjodin (2:02.07) and Simon Frank (2:05.05) placed second and third.

Petter Stymne raced to victory in the men's 50-meter freestyle finale with a 23.13, while Stefan Nystrand touched just behind in 23.23. Robin Andreasson wound up third in 23.41. Jacob Thulin won the men's 100-meter fly in 54.51, while Oscar Ekstrom (54.78) and David Larsson (54.94) comprised the rest of the top three.

Louise Hansson cruised to victory in the women's 400-meter free with a 4:17.88, while Nadja Salomonsson (4:22.86) and Caroline Palm (4:24.67) placed second and third. Oskar Nordstrand followed with an 8:20.27 for the men's 800-meter free triumph. Christopher Jedel (8:24.78) and Simon Plato (8:33.75) earned second and third.
Copyright 1996-2014
Sports Publications International, Inc.