World Cup, Tokyo: Tomoko Hagiwara, Yuka Kato Set Japanese Records During Day Two Finals

Make your Fantasy Swimming picks for this meet at our Fantasy Swimming page.

TOKYO, Japan, October 21. THE second day of short course meter finals action is complete at the World Cup stop in Tokyo.

Men's 1500 free
Japan's Sho Uchida cleared 15:00 to win in 14:54.38 and move to sixth in the world rankings. Yuto Sato finished second in 15:02.56, while Daisuke Doi took third in 15:08.02.

Ryuta Osaki (15:12.10), Yuto Kobayashi (15:14.45), China's Jiang Tiansheng (15:17.07), Syogo Takeda (15:20.43) and China's Hou Mingda (15:20.96) made up the rest of the top eight.

Women's 100 free
In a star-studded finale, Australia's Marieke Guehrer touched out USA's Jessica Hardy, 53.17 to 53.24, to move to third in the world. Hardy has the top-ranked season best of 53.06. Sweden's Sarah Sjostrom placed third in 53.34.

Japan's Haruka Ueda (53.59), Yayoi Matsumoto (53.91), Hanae Ito (54.21), Tomoko Hagiwara (54.38) and Yasuko Miyamoto (55.48) also swam in the finale.

Men's 200 free
Japan's Takeshi Matsuda posted the fastest time in the world this year with a 1:43.93. He jumped ahead of Darian Townsend, who previously owned the best time with a 1:44.27 from the Beijing stop. Canada's Brian Johns finished second, and second in the world, with a 1:44.13. Townsend rounded out the podium with a third-place 1:44.47.

Australia's Kyle Richardson (1:44.92), Japan's Shunsuke Kuzuhara (1:45.09), Switzerland's Dominik Meichtry (1:45.54), Japan's Yuki Kobori (1:47.97) and New Zealand's Michael Jack (1:47.97) grabbed the other finals finishes.

Women's 50 breast
Sweden's Jennie Johansson upended USA's Jessica Hardy, 30.47 to 30.58, in the sprint breast. Johansson improved her fourth-ranked season best of 30.68, but still remained behind Leiston Pickett's 30.37. Germany's Dorothea Brandt placed third in 30.85.

Japan's Satomi Suzuki (30.99), Sayuna Sugiyama (31.32), Fumiko Kawanabe (31.40), Nanaka Tamura (31.43) and Hitomi Nose (31.57) placed fourth through eighth.

Men's 100 breast
Japan's Ryo Tateishi moved to second in the world rankings with a swift time of 57.43. Only Felipe Silva has been faster this year with a 56.79. Kosuke Kitajima (58.34) and Naoya Tomita (58.47) placed second and third to move into the top five.

Ryo Kobayashi (58.95), Ryota Nomura (59.31), Russia's Grigory Falko (59.89), Brazil's Tales Cerdeira (59.90) and Kazuki Otsuka (59.99) all cleared 1:00 in the finale.

Women's 400 IM
USA's Julia Smit earned the top ranking in the world with a 4:27.70 in the distance medley. She moved ahead of Ye Shiwen (4:28.67). Japan's Izumi Kato touched second in 4:32.12 to take fourth in the rankings. Maiko Fujino placed third in 4:35.25.

Kyoka Suenaga (4:38.46), Eri Morikawa (4:39.23), Chihiro Igarashi (4:40.69), Reona Aoki (4:42.91) and Miyu Otsuka (4:42.91) made up the top eight.

Men's 100 fly
Germany's Steffen Deibler snared the title in 50.43, while Kohei Kawamoto took second in 51.06. Sweden's Lars Frolander completed the podium with a third-place 51.10.

Takeshi Matsuda (51.29), Takuro Fujii (51.39), Rammaru Harada (51.71), Ippei Otsuka (51.81) and Ryo Takayasu (52.66) also competed for the title in the finale.

Women's 100 back
Aya Terakawa picked up the victory in 56.90, while Shiho Sakai finished second in 57.31. USA's Natalie Coughlin grabbed third in 57.92.

Hanae Ito (58.16) and Sayaka Akase (58.36) wound up fourth and fifth, while Australia's Rachel Goh (58.61), Noriko Inada (58.86) and Marie Kamimura (59.05) completed the top eight.

Men's 50 back
Junya Koga (23.58) held off USA's Peter Marshall (23.63) and Australia's Hayden Stoeckel (23.99) for the title.

Russia's Arkady Vyatchanin (24.36), Motoaki Miyama (24.43), Takashi Iyobe (24.58), Masafumi Yamaguchi (24.60) and Hideaki Aoki (24.95) made up the rest of the championship heat.

Women's 200 fly
USA's Elaine Breeden earned the distance fly crown in 2:04.54, while Yuka Kato (2:05.06) and China's Gong Jie (2:06.00) finished second and third.

Natsumi Hoshi (2:06.21), Miki Katsuyama (2:10.00), New Zealand's Charlotte Webby (2:10.13), Eri Oishi (2:10.27) and Natsumi Yamamoto (2:10.94) grabbed fourth through eighth.

Men's 200 IM
Austria's Markus Rogan cleared 1:54 for the win in 1:53.85. Brazil's Thiago Pereira (1:54.82) and South Africa's Darian Townsend (1:55.21) bracketed him on the podium.

Ken Takakuwa (1:56.41), Brazil's Henrique Rodrigues (1:56.56), Daiya Seto (1:57.13), Takuto Ueki (1:57.59) and Sho Uchida (1:58.11) claimed the rest of the finals finishes.

Women's 400 free
Haruka Ueda cruised to victory with a time of 4:06.57, while Sakiko Nakamura (4:09.10) and Yumi Kida (4:09.64) finished second and third.

Asami Chida (4:11.74), Atsuyo Yoshida (4:11.88), Misato Iwanaga (4:13.09), Misaki Kimura (4:13.39) and Ayako Kataoka (4:15.53) comprised the rest of an All-Japan finale.

Men's 50 free
Australia's Kyle Richardson claimed the splash-and-dash title in 21.42, while South Africa's Roland Schoeman placed second in 21.49. Germany's Steffen Deibler wound up third overall in 21.50.

Sweden's Stefan Nystrand (21.67), Russia's Sergey Fesikov (21.85), Kenta Ito (21.91), Makoto Ito (22.05) and South Africa's Graeme Moore (22.06) also vied for the title.

Women's 200 breast
In another All-Japan final, Rie Kaneto led the way with a winning 2:20.83 to move to second in the world rankings. Nanaka Tamura (2:22.99), Mio Motegi (2:23.01), Satomi Suzuki (2:23.41) and Saya Fujimoto (2:23.62) placed second through fifth.

Ayumi Koshiyama (2:24.87), Fumiko Kawanabe (2:26.16) and Satori Hosokoshi (2:26.17) made up the rest of the championship field.

Women's 100 IM
Tomoko Hagiwara became the first Japanese woman under 1:00 in the event with a winning time of 59.94. That swim cleared the Japanese record of 1:00.01 previously set by Asami Kitagawa a year ago. The Netherland's Hinkelien Schreuder placed second in 59.95. The only other swimmer under 1:00 this year is Emily Seebohm with the top-ranked 59.29.

USA's Julia Smit (1:00.13), USA's Natalie Coughlin (1:00.40), Kitagawa (1:00.70), Miho Teramura (1:01.12), Emi Takabatake (1:01.64) and Emu Higuchi (1:02.76) also reached the finale.

Men's 200 back
Ryosuke Irie moved to the top of the world in the event with a 1:50.58. That time trumped Arkady Vyatchanin's previously top-ranked time of 1:51.92 from the Rio stop. Austria's Markus Rogan finished second in 1:52.59, while Vyatchanin took third overall in 1:52.62.

Kazuki Watanabe (1:53.37), South Africa's George Du Rand (1:54.03), Kosuke Hagino (1:54.31), Yuki Shirai (1:55.84) and Hayate Matubara (1:56.80) completed the top eight.

Women's 50 fly
Sweden's Therese Alshammar, the World Cup points leader, cruised to victory in 25.27 just missing her top-ranked season best of 25.24 from the Singapore stop. Australia's Marieke Guehrer finished second in 25.59 to move to third in the rankings, while Yuka Kato set the Japanese record with a third-place 25.62. That swim eclipsed the 25.91 set by Ayako Doi last year.

The Netherlands' Hinkelien Schreuder (26.43), Kaho Nagai (26.58), Brazil's Gabriella Silva (26.60), Rino Hosoda (26.80) and Masako Kuroki (26.97) put the Tokyo stop to bed.

Day Two Finals Results

Comments Off on World Cup, Tokyo: Tomoko Hagiwara, Yuka Kato Set Japanese Records During Day Two Finals

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here