World Cup Format Changed

By Craig Lord
FUKUOKA, Japan, July 25. THE 2001/2002 World Cup series will mark a change in format.

Gone will be the stroke categories. In their place there will be a much simpler system, in which there will be just two winners – one man, one woman. Each will be judged on the FINA points table, the man and woman, in any event, who score the highest points in any of the world cup rounds each receiving $50,000.
Second place attracts $30,000, and third $20,000.

There will also be a a maximum bonus prize of $40,000 for world records. Only those swimmers who compete in at least once in each of the continental zones are eligible for any prize money.

The program is:

Zone 1: Americas
16-18 November – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
27-28 – New York, US

Zone 2: Asia/Oceania
3-4 December – Shanghai, China
7-9 December – Melbourne, Australia

Zone 3: Europe
22-23 January – Stockholm, Sweden
26-27 January – Berlin, Germany

Comments Off on World Cup Format Changed

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue