WIAC Championships: Day One

OSHKOSH, Wisconsin, February 21. AS expected, UW-Stevens Point and UW-La Crosse lead the pack after Thursday's (Feb. 21) competition at the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Men's Swimming and Diving Championship in UW-Oshkosh's Albee Hall.

Eight-time defending champion UW-Stevens Point scored 256 points in the six events held on the first day of the three-day meet. UW-La Crosse ranks second with 223 points, UW-Eau Claire third with 216, UW-Whitewater fourth with 127, UW-Oshkosh fifth with 88 and UW-River Falls sixth with 53.

Chase Gross led the Pointers on opening day by winning the 50-yard freestyle for the second time in three years. He won this year's event with a time of 20.86 seconds. Gross also swam on UW-Stevens Point's first-place relay team that posted a time of 3:27.61.

Joining Gross in the 400-yard medley relay were Willie Clapp, Matt Olp and Ben Schreiber.

Daniel Lynam won the 500-yard freestyle with a time of 4:42.66 to round out UW-Stevens Point's event winners on day one.

UW-La Crosse was paced by Anthony Schmidt's second straight title in the 200-yard individual medley. He won the event with a time of 1:56.12.

The Eagles' 200-yard freestyle relay team of Christopher Boyle, Matthew Diehl, Micah Fulmer and Tony Wolff took first place with a time of 1:24.55.

UW-Oshkosh's Jacob Chadderdon scored 484.95 points to successfully defend his three-meter diving title.

For the women, UW-La Crosse won four of the six events and splashed to the early lead after Thursday's (Feb. 21) action at the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Men's Swimming and Diving Championship in UW-Oshkosh's Albee Hall.

UW-La Crosse paces the six-team field with 300 points. Two-time defending champion UW-Stevens Point sits in second place with 235 points, UW-Eau Claire third with 190, UW-Whitewater fourth with 105, UW-River Falls fifth with 67 and UW-Oshkosh sixth with 66.

UW-La Crosse's Amanda Medendorp became a three-time champion in the three-meter diving by totaling 435.80 points. She was followed by teammates Kristina Wanous in second place with 429.20 points, Shannon Doyle in third place with 401.50, Samantha Koch in fourth place with 399.90 and Rachael Lavalley in fifth place with 375.40.

UW-La Crosse also had Chelsea Hoff win the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 23.93 seconds.

The Eagles also won a pair of relay titles. In the 200-yard freestyle relay, Hoff, Clare Hathaway, Brianna Peyer and Danielle Rux swam to a time of 1:37.00. Hoff, Hathaway, Katelyn Hartung and Sarah Russart won the 400-yard medley relay with a time of 3:59.25.

The remaining titles awarded on Thursday went to UW-Stevens Point's Abby Strobel and UW-Eau Claire's Amanda Kroger. Strobel recorded a time of 2:11.32 to win the 200-yard individual medley for the second straight year. Kroger took first place in the 500-yard freestyle with a time of 5:10.10.

Special thanks to the WIAC for contributing this report.

Comments Off on WIAC Championships: Day One

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here