West Florida’s Michalak Breaks 200 IM NSISC Record On Day One

Photo Courtesy: West Florida Athletics

By Delaney Lanker, Swimming World College Intern

The New South Intercollegiate Swim Championships day one finals were completed tonight.The finals of the men’s and women’s 1000 freestyle, 200 IM, 50 freestyle, and 200 medley relay were swam. The women’s 200 IM NSICSC record was broken.

Madeline Pitt of West Florida, won the women’s 1000 freestyle with a 10:14.39. Delta’s Melanie Tombers went a 10:18.91 for second place and West Florida’s Angie Gallastegui took the bronze with a 10:23.54.

Delta swept the podium in the men’s 1000 freestyle. Coming in at a 9:23.93 for the win was Nathan Sawicki. Right behind him was teammate, Bryce Anderson with a 9:23.34 and Makis Jorgensen touched for third place with a 9:32.71.

In the women’s 200 IM, Theresa Michalak from West Florida bested her time from this morning and went a 1:59.82. With this time Michalak broke the 2015 NSICSC record of 2:01.62. Kierstin Page of Delta touched in with a 2:04.96, taking the silver and Taylor Bass of Minnesota State-Mankato went a 2:05.76 for bronze.

Delta’s Cody Levine won the men’s 200 IM with a 1:48.68. His teammate, Matteo Braschi finished close behind with a 1:48.72 for second place and Ouachita’s Alexander Podguzov placed third with a 1:51.45.

Minnesota State Mankato’s Cheyenne Rova won the women’s 50 free in the time of 23.43. West Florida’s Peggy de Villiers came in with a 23.59 for the silver and Cecelia Hake of Minnesota State Mankato, finished third with a 23.68.

Mattia Schirru of Delta State won the men’s 50 free with a 20.34. Max Pohl of Henderson came in at a 20.60 for second place and Delta’s Fabrice Wendel went a 20.63 for the bronze.

Minnesota State Mankato won the women’s 200 medley relay tonight. Their team of Hake (25.59), Alycia Holwerda (29.78), Kylie Gaeth (24.72) and Rova (23.14) went a 1:43.23 for the win. Delta State came in second (1:44.08) with Anastasia Klyarovskaya (25.31), Maria Clara Belisario (29.84), Danielle Dugas (25.88) and Chloe Bennett (23.05). Right behind for third was Florida State going a 1:44.19 with the team of Nicole Machado (29.98), Gabrielle Spangenberg (29.66), de Villiers (24.73) and Michalak (22.82).

In the time of 1:29.74, Delta State’s Lavoie (23.29), Alex Peach (24.63), Max Pendall (21.41) and Nick Zorn (20.41) won the men’s 200 medley relay. St. Cloud State came in second with a 1:30.77 and their team of Reed Allex (23.51), Justin Winnett (24.63), Triston Ferguson (22.43) and Ike Erickson (20.20). Henderson State came in third (1:31.97) with Bogdan Pochynok (23.84), Joshua Lawson (25.54), Pohl (22.29) and Hunter Arnold (20.30).

Women’s Team Scores
1.University of West Florida 438
2.Delta State University 338
3.St. Cloud State University 310
4.Minnesota State, Mankato 294
5.Henderson State University 201
6.Minnesota State Moorhead 181
7.Ouachita Baptist University 138
8.Northern State University 95
9.UT-Permian Basin 43

Men’s Team Scores
1.Delta State University 241
2.Henderson State University 178
3.St. Cloud State University 121
4.Ouachita Baptist University 89
5.UT-Permain Basin 62

1 Comment

1 comment

  1. avatar
    Bill Bell

    Guess Frau Michalak got tired of being a small fish in a big pond @ Florida and is now @ a school tht more suits her needs. Too bad she left the Gators after just one season as they could use her this year.

    Well we’ll see how this moves when the German Olympic Trials take place.

Author: Delaney Lanker

Delaney Lanker is a junior at Northeastern University studying journalism. She is a butterflier and captain of their NCAA Division I team. Before college, she swam for the Colorado Stars.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here