Water Polo: 1999 Men’s FINA World Cup

Courtesy www.usawaterpolo.com
United States National Team coach John Vargas announced the members of the team that will compete in the XI FINA Water Polo World Cup September 28-October 3, 1999 in Sydney, Australia. The World Cup serves as a pre-Olympic test event, and includes the eight best teams in the world. Three Olympic bids will be awarded. The only teams to have secured Olympic bids are the United States by virtue of its gold medal performance at the Pan American Games in July, and the host country Australia. If the United States finishes in the top three then Cuba will receive an Olympic Bid.

The United States will compete in an opening round bracket against reigning Olympic and World Champion Spain , host nation Australia, and Russia, winners of the 1998 Goodwill Games and the 1999 UPS Cup at Newport Beach.

At the last World Cup in 1997 in Athens, the United States won the gold medal.

The United States Men’s FINA World Cup Team:
Albright, Brent – Lompoc, Calif. – California ’98
Arroyo, Gavin – Orange, Calif. – California ’94
Azevedo, Tony – Long Beach, Calif. – Wilson HS ’00
Bailey, Ryan – Long Beach, Calif. – UC Irvine ’99
Hackett, Dan – Irvine, Calif. – UCLA ’92
Humbert, Chris – Lodi, Calif. – California ’93
Kopp, Kyle – San Bernardino, Calif. – Long Beach State ’90
Kredell, Chi – Seal Beach, Calif. – Long Beach State ’93
Lynn, Robert – Long Beach, Calif. – Southern California ’89
Nolan, Sean – Palo Alto, Calif. – California ’95
Oeding, Chris – Newport Beach, Calif. – California ’94
Schumacher, Brad – Bowie, Md. – Pacific ’97
Wigo, Wolf – New York, N.Y. – Stanford ’96

Comments Off on Water Polo: 1999 Men’s FINA World Cup

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue