Utah Women Win MWC Title

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. January, 29. THE University of Utah women’s swimming and diving teams clinched at least a share of the MWC regular-season title for the third straight year after beating Air Force 167-123. The women improve to 8-1 overall, 7-0 MWC. The women won 11 of the 17 events overall.

The men’s meet came down to the last event with Utah needing to finish first and second, but the Utes fell short, losing 154.5-145.5. The men fall to 4-2 overall, 2-2 MWC.

“It was an exciting dual meet,” said Head Coach Michael Litzinger. “Both teams fought very hard and it was back and forth the whole way. We’re a little disappointed in the loss on the men’s side, but it was a great college swimming meet all around.”

On the women’s side, the team of Shannon McQueen, Ariane Kich, Michelle Blair and Alison McInturff won the 200 medley relay with a time of 1 minute, 48.12 seconds. Rachael Curci won the 1000 free in 10 minute, 38.40 seconds.

McQueen won the 100 back in 59.64 seconds and the 500 free with a time of 5 minutes, 10.86 seconds. McQueen was followed by Marissa Martin (5:26.31) and Caitlin Tidwell (5:33.66) who finished second and third in the 500 free, respectively.

Kich won the 100 breast with a time of 1 minute, 07.50 seconds, while Amy Barefield (53.36) and McInturff (53.41) finished first and second in the 100 free, respectively.

Utah posted a 1-2-3 finish in the 50 free with Amber Walter (23.82), McInturff (24.62) and Amber Walker (24.77) competing for the Utes in the event. In the 200 back, Meghan Demchuk took top honors with a time of 2 minutes, 15.11 seconds. Jennifer Fredsall finished first in the 100 fly with a time of 57.89 seconds.

For the men, Jonathan Larsen posted two individual event victories in the 50 and 100 free. Larsen won the 50 free with a time of 21.74 seconds, followed by David Maasberg who finished second in 21.25 seconds. In the 100 free, Larsen finished in 45.25 seconds for the win.

In the 1000 free, Adam Oliver finished in 9 minutes, 52.27 seconds to finish first, while senior Eric Jorgensen placed third with a time of 10 minutes, 05.41 seconds. In the 100 back, Andrew Cole took top honors with a time of 51.91 seconds. Cole also won the 200 back with a time of 1 minute, 51.98 seconds.

The men’s 200 free relay team of Cole, David Johnson, Jeremy Clark and Maasberg tied for first place with a time of 1 minute, 24.29 seconds. The team of Matthew Bailey, Larsen, Michel DeCarolis and George Evans finished third in 1 minute, 24.45 seconds.

In the Air Force Diving Invitational, Utah divers Kelsey Patterson and Sterling Richards both won the 1-meter diving event. Patterson scored 269.45 points, while Richards tallied 339.25 points. Richards’ win in the 3-meter also helped the men’s team beat Wyoming with his results in the 3-meter sealing the Utes’ win over the Cowboys.

The Utes are back in action Thursday, Feb. 2, when they travel to Provo, Utah to take on in-state rival BYU. The meet is slated to begin at 6 p.m.

Comments Off on Utah Women Win MWC Title

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here