USA Swimming Sectionals, College Station: Lily Moldenhauer Earns Three Titles on Final Day, Plano Sets National Age Group Record

COLLEGE STATION, Texas, March 8. THE last day of action at the USA Swimming Sectionals held in College Station, Texas, featured Alamo Area's Lily Moldenhauer walking away with three more gold medals.

Moldenhauer crushed the meet record in the women's 100-yard back with a time of 53.09. The performance cleared the 54.42 set by Hayley McGregory back in 2003. Fleet's Cole Cragin followed with a meet-record time of 47.05 to win the men's 100-yard back. That effort eclipsed the 48.98 set by Matt Thompson in 2007.

Merritt Krawczyk of Eagle came next with a top time of 1:02.80 to win the women's 100-yard breast, while Harris County's Karson Applin snatched the men's 100-yard breast title in 55.62.

The sprint and distance freestyle made up the next four events. Dallas Mustang Allison Arnold claimed the women's 1650-yard free in 16:26.99, while teammate Caleb Veazey won the men's 1650-yard free in 15:22.42.

Moldenhauer, meanwhile, picked up her second title of the night with a 23.17 to win the women's 50-yard free. Dallas Mustang Jon Berrettini touched first in the men's 50-yard free with a 20.27.

Moldenhauer completed a title trifecta in the women's 200-yard IM with a 2:00.82 for the win. Plano's Paul Leonhardt finished the men's 200-yard IM in 1:49.86 for his own victory.

Tucson Ford's Stef Wells, Courtney Rhodenbaugh, Lauren Baker and Sarah Denninghoff finished the women's 400-yard medley relay in 3:42.78 to best the meet record of 3:45.85 set by Circle C in 2003. Meanwhile, Fleet's Cragin, Alex Ruata, Hunter Bayley and Charlie Moore completed the meet with a meet-record time of 3:19.10 to down Circle C's 2003 standard of 3:22.71 in the men's 400-yard medley relay.

Also, special thanks to Texasrocks for alerting us via Reaction Time below to a National Age Group record falling in the men's 400-yard medley relay. Plano's foursome of Zach Walters, Leonhardt, Kyle McIntee and Seth Stubblefield clocked a seventh-place time of 3:26.60. The swim set the 15-16 NAG previous owned by Nova of Virginia that turned in a 3:27.76 in 2005.

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here