Three Time RCP Tiburon Mile Winner Kane Radford Competing in 2013 Edition

TIBURON, California, July 29. IN only two months’ time, some of the most elite open water swimmers will dive into the chilly San Francisco Bay waters off the coast of Tiburon, California for the fourteenth annual 2013 Robert C Placak (RCP) Tiburon Mile.

The male and female winners in the Elite Group receive a prize check for $10,000 each. Last year, Australian Open Water Olympian Melissa Gorman earned the top spot for the females upping her total RCP titles to three (2009, 2011 and 12). New Zealand’s Kane Radford also snagged his third RCP title for the men (2009, 2011 and 12). Radford will be back again this to try for his fourth title.

Read on for the list of the elite swimmers registered for the 2013 RCP Tiburon Mile on September 29:


Evgeny Bezruchenko (RUS)
Dennis Bowsher (USA)
Valerio Cleri (ITA)
Ridge Grimsey (AUS)
Aimeson King (CAN)
Alex Kostich (USA)
Eric Nilsson (USA)
George O’Brien (AUS)
Chip Peterson (USA)
Jarred Poort (AUS)
Kane Radford (NZ)
Michael Sheil (AUS)
Alex Studzinsky (GER)
Richard Weinberger (CAN)


Haley Anderson (USA)
Brooke Bennett (USA)
Christine Jennings (USA)
Lexie Kelly (USA)
Becca Mann (USA)
Kerri-Ann Payne (GB)
Luane Rowe (AUS)
Ashley Twichell (USA)

Recap from the 2012 RCP Tiburon Mile
Yesterday, some of the world’s most elite open water athletes took a chilly plunge into the 61-degree waters in Tiburon, California. The mile-long race, starting at Angel Island and ending on the docks of Tiburon, is considered a sprint in the world of open-water swimming.

At approximately 8:30 in the morning, 200-plus athletes filed on to two ferries from the Tiburon docks, heading to Angel Island. Apart from the ensuing race, the main topic of discussion was the incredible, sunny weather: no morning bay fog, and just a slight breeze. The boat ride to the island was quick, but it provided dramatic views of the San Rafael Bridge to the left, and all of San Francisco and the Golden Gate to the right. Joining the fun was a pod of harbor porpoises, poking their heads to the water’s surface, checking on the commotion.

The race is divided into three categories: the Elite Group, Age Group and Wetsuit, with the male and female Elite winners receiving $10,000 in prize money. This year, the Elite men boasted an incredibly talented roster, including two-time Tiburon Mile champion Kane Radford, American Record holder Michael Klueh, USA National 5k open water Champion David Heron, and Australian open water swimming sensations Ridge and Codie Grimsey.

The women’s side was equally stacked with two-time Tiburon Elite Champion Melissa Gorman, FINA World Cup 10k open water champion Christine Jennings, 14-year-old distance super star Becca Mann, and USA National Open Water team member Ashley Twichell, to name a few.

Gorman took an early lead, but the men overtook Melissa Gorman down the final stretch, bumping her down to third overall but first amongst the women. She finished the race in 21 minutes 46 second, five seconds ahead of Colorado’s Christine Jennings, the women’s Elite second-place finisher. Second place for the women’s elite went to Christine Jennings, at a 21:51. Mission Viejo’s Ashley Twichell and 14-year-old Becca Mann tied for third at a 22:09.

Comments Off on Three Time RCP Tiburon Mile Winner Kane Radford Competing in 2013 Edition

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here