The Netherlands Championships: Nick Driebergen, Joeri Verlinden Win Three Events Apiece

AMSTERDAM, The Netherlands, June 13. NICK Driebergen swept the men's backstroke events while Joeri Verlinden swept the men's butterfly events last weekend at the 2012 Open Netherlands Championships in Amsterdam.

In the men's 50 free, Jasper van Mierlo won by a sizeable margin, beating second place finisher Sebastiaan Verschuren by more than half a second with a time of 22.39. Verschuren touched in 23.04 while Stijn Depypere was third in 23.22. Hinkelien Schreuder took home top honors in the women's 50 free in 25.14, ahead of Jolien Sysmans (25.69) and Henriette Brekke (25.76).

Sebastiaan Verschuren was the only swimmer under 50 seconds in the men's 100 free, posting a 49.59 for the win. Jasper van Mierlo touched second in 50.70 while Steven Nonnekes was third in 51.45. On the women's side, Saskia de Jonge won the in 56.17, ahead of Rieneke Terink (56.56) and Katerina Filova (56.59).

Sebastiaan Verschuren doubled in the freestyle events after posting a 1:48.73 in the men's 200. Dion Dreesens finished half a second back in 1:49.20 with Gard Kvale in third at 1:50.51. Cecilie Johannessen earned a tight victory in the women's 200 free in 2:01.60, with Katerina Filova (2:01.86) and Rieneke Terink (2:01.91) right behind.

In the men's and women's timed final 400 freestyle, Maarten Brzoskowski (4:01.47) and Esmee Vermuelen (4:16.31) earned the respective victories. Lucas Greven (4:11.74) and Erik Nijholt (4:12.32) finished second and third in the men's race while Rosa Veerman (4:24.31) and Manon Friskes (4:28.78) rounded out the women's podium.

Job Kienhuis captured the men's 800 free by nearly 18 seconds with a final time of 8:00.76. Maarten Brzoskowski set a new junior national record to finish second in 8:18.56 while Rowan Keen placed third in 9:14.38. Esmee Vermuelen earned her second win of the meet with an 8:54.09 to win the women's race. Anouque Berghuis finished second in 9:16.44 while Manon Friskes placed third in 9:23.91.

Nick Driebergen dominated the field in the men's 50 back with a 25.58, seven-tenths ahead of Jan Kersten (26.28). Stijn Depypere took third in 26.72. Maaike de Waard got her hand on the wall first in the women's 50 back with a time of 29.53, just in front of Kira Toussaint (29.70) and Jasmijn Verhaegen (29.82).

Driebergen, the national record-holder in the men's 100 back at 53.78, won his specialty with a 54.86, almost three seconds in front of Sverre Eschweiler's 57.56. Ramunas Paknys grabbed third in 59.16. Annemarie Worst claimed the women's 100 back title in 1:03.07, in front of Maaike de Waard (1:03.96) and Katarina Listopadova (1:04.15).

Driebergen swept the men's backstroke events after posting the top time of 1:59.26 in the 200, just over two seconds off his own national record. Jos de Graaf finished second in 2:06.88 while Sverre Eschweiler was third in 2:07.05. Kira Toussaint claimed first place honors in the women's event with a 2:13.15. Annemarie Worst (2:15.64) and Maaike de Ward (2:18.82) followed in second and third.

In the men's breaststroke events, Timon Evenhuis grabbed a win in the sprint 50 with a 28.68, bettering Bram Dekker (29.20) and Pieter Jan de Vries (29.35). In the 100, it was Lennart Stekelenburg who got to the wall first, as he finished in 1:01.96. Stefan Hazeleger placed second in 1:03.27, just in front of Bram Dekker's 1:03.36. Stekelenburg added a second victory in the 200 after finishing in 2:16.56, half a second ahead of Stefan Hazeleger (2:17.12). Jordan Kraaijenhof picked up third in 2:22.45.

Moniek Nijhuis, the national record-holder in the women's 50 breast, claimed gold in the event with a 31.75, nearly a second ahead of second place finisher Anouk Elzerman (32.65). Lona Kroese finished .04 back in third at 32.69. Nijhuis again took top honors in the 100 breast, where she turned in a time of 1:08.59, just over a second off her national record of 1:07.41. Katharina Stiberg (1:10.09) and Tessa Brouwer (1:11.69) rounded out the top three finishers. Loes Zanderink captured the 200 breast with a time of 2:34.00 while Lia Dekker (2:36.80) and Tessa Brouwer (2:37.33) picked up second and third.

Joeri Verlinden grabbed the butterfly triple with wins in the men's 50, 100 and 200 fly. In the 50, he led a trio of finishers under the 25-second mark with a winning time of 24.21. Tim van Deutekom placed second in 24.77 while Mike Marissen took third in a 24.88. Verlinden made it two-for-two as he posted a solid swim in the 100 fly at 52.84, with Jens Baker more than two seconds back in 55.07. Mike Marissen squeezed into third with a 55.38. Verlinden grabbed the triple with a 2:00.99 in the 200, out-touching Sindri Thor Jakobsson, who touched in 2:01.28. Fabian Beimin placed third in 2:03.69.

The women's 50 fly featured an exciting finish as seven of the eight finalists finished within 1.1 seconds of one another. Elinore de Jong led the way at 27.20, followed by Kelly de Jong (27.23) and Tamara van Vliet (27.47). Hinkelien Schreuder won her second event of the meet after posting a sub-1:00 swim in the 100 fly at 59.94. Kelly de Jong picked up another silver with a 1:01.24 while Katarina Listopadova turned in a 1:01.59 for third. Cynthia Verkaik outlasted the field in the women's 200 fly, winning in 2:21.41. Malissa van de Heuvel turned in a 2:24.59 for second, followed by Anouque Berghuis in 2:26.70.

Mike Marissen won a close finish in the men's 200 IM, beating Sebas van Lith by two-tenths with a 2:03.83. Bram Dekker touched third in 2:05.48. van Lith rebounded in the 400 IM by posting the top time of 4:25.04. Jens Bakker (4:32.00) and Davy Verreussel (4:34.72) placed second and third in the event.

Katarina Listopadova, already a medalist in multiple events during the weekend, out-raced Lona Kroese for the women's 200 IM title. Listopadova swam a 2:17.43 to Kroese's 2:17.60. Joelle Scheps took third in 2:19.06. Lieke Verouden topped the 400 IM finale in 4:50.46, almost five seconds ahead of second place finisher Annick van Westendorp's 4:55.00. Marjolein Delno swam a 5:00.83 for third place.

Comments Off on The Netherlands Championships: Nick Driebergen, Joeri Verlinden Win Three Events Apiece

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here