Texas Women’s Athletics Awards Banquet Honors Announced

AUSTIN, TEXAS – The 25th annual University of Texas Women’s Athletics All Sports Banquet took place on Tuesday, April 27th at the Frank Erwin Center in Austin. The banquet, which featured the awarding of 80 special honors and endowed scholarship awards, also was highlighted by the awarding of the 1998-99 team MVP honors.

Additionally, the Women’s Athletics Department made special recognition to the 1998-99 Big 12 Conference Champions and the NCAA National Champions from this past year which was followed by a “NCAA Championship” videotape salute to the three-time NCAA National Championship track team and to 1999 NCAA platform diving champion senior Laura Wilkinson (Spring, Texas / Klein HS).

Diving: junior Laura Wilkinson (Spring, Texas / Klein HS) …. Laura is an eight-time All-American and has won the NCAA National Championship in platform diving twice – in 1997 and again this March …. she also was second on the 3-meter board at this year’s NCAA’s … at the Big 12 meet, Laura won both the 10-meter platform and 3-meter springboard events as her points helped Texas win its first Big 12 swimming & diving title … public relations major and a Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll selection.

Swimming: senior Erin Maher (Richardson, Texas / Berkner HS) … Erin is a 13-time All-America standout, earning five All-America honors this year at the 1999 NCAA’s… She also is the defending Big 12 champion in the 50 yard free and 100 yard backstroke, and also was a member of three Big 12 first-place relays this year, helping UT to the 1998-99 team title.

Comments Off on Texas Women’s Athletics Awards Banquet Honors Announced

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue