Texas Long Course Senior Circuit: Aggie Olympians Win On Final Night

By David Rieder

COLLEGE STATION, Texas, June 9. THE final night of the Texas Long Course Senior Circuit meet on the campus of Texas A&M University featured two hometown Olympians earning their second victory of the competition.

Aggie's Cammile Adams earned the win in the women's 200 fly in 2:13.85. The Olympic Trials champion in the event pulled away from Longhorn's Kaitlin Pawlowicz. Pawlowicz ended up taking second in 2:14.73, while Aggie's Rita Medrano ended up third in 2:16.00. On the men's side, Nitro's Nathan Howells won the 200 fly in 2:08.40, while teammate Josh Anderson grabbed second in 2:10.63. Performance's Manny Avila took third in 2:12.08.

Aggie's Breeja Larson added to her 100 breast title with a second win in the women's 50 breast. Larson touched in 31.43, while Longhorn's Gretchen Jaques touched almost a second behind in 32.31, and First Colony's Skylar Smith grabbed third in 33.53. In the men's 50 breast, CBA's Arthur Cheng took first in 31.35. PFL's Stuart Mossop finished second in 31.64, and Houston's Brandon Ewer grabbed third in 32.59.

Longhorn's Alex Hooper won the women's 100 back in 1:04.41. Nitro's Regan Barney finished second in 1:05.49, and Metro's Sammie Hashbarger touched third in 1:05.86. Magnolia's Cannon Clifton grabbed the win in the men's 100 back in 58.64. Clifton edged Longhorn's Ian Maistre, who came in at 58.80, while Brenham's Guy Buls came in third at 59.83.

Longhorn's Quinn Carrozza added another win after her breakout performance in the 200 free on Saturday, clocking a 2:17.70 in the women's 200 IM. Two more Longhorns finished 2-3, as Victoria Cassidy took second in 2:18.64, while Jaques ended up third in 2:19.53. Pack's Ben Walker took the men's 200 IM in 2:10.22, more than a second ahead of the 2:11.27 of Longhorn's Grant Rogers. Longhorn's Young Jae Hur grabbed third in 2:12.26.
In distance events, Aggie's Sarah Henry won the women's 800 free in 8:53.82, edging Longhorn's Kelsey Leneave, who touched second in 8:54.96. Rice's Erin Flanigan grabbed third in 9:06.64. Nitro's Seth Timmons grabbed the men's mile title in 16:31.17. Chesapeake's Naresh Naik took second in 16:31.74, while Metro's Jay Bolinger finished third in 16:40.98.

Longhorn's Ellen Lobb touched out Aggie's Liliana Ibanez Lopez in a fast final of the women's 50 free, 25.83 to 25.87. Lakeside's Lauren Pitzer finished third in 26.44. Results from the men's 50 free were not available at press time.

Comments Off on Texas Long Course Senior Circuit: Aggie Olympians Win On Final Night

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here