Texas Invite: Laura Sogar, Maggie Meyer, Cory Chitwood Post Swift Times

AUSTIN, Texas, December 4. THE Texas Invitational came to a close with some significantly fast times in the short course yard competition.

Texas' Laura Sogar dominated the women's 200 breast with a scorching NCAA A cut time of 2:07.82 to move to 11th in the all time rankings. UCLA's Britt Beauchan also cleared the NCAA A cut threshold with a second-place 2:09.69. UC Davis' Heidi Kucera placed third in 2:11.66.

Wisconsin's Maggie Meyer captured the women's 200 back in an NCAA A cut time of 1:51.59. That time pushed her to 12th in the all time rankings. Arizona's Sarah Denninghoff took second in 1:53.67, while Texas' Katie Riefenstahl placed third in 1:54.56.

Arizona's Cory Chitwood clocked an NCAA A cut in the men's 200 back with a winning 1:41.07. He's been faster with a sixth-ranked lifetime best of 1:39.29 at the 2010 NCAA Division I Championships. Teammate Michael Sheppard earned second in 1:42.87, while Texas' Austin Surhoff garnered third in 1:43.19.

UCLA's Samantha Vanden Berge snatched the women's 1650 free title in 16:16.70. Wisconsin's Danielle Beckwith touched second in 16:26.20, while Arizona's Susana Helms placed third in 16:30.82. Texas' Jackson Wilcox topped the men's 1650 free in 14:53.38. Texas' Michael McBroom finished second in 14:58.07, while Arizona's Matt Barber earned third in 15:15.24.

Arizona's Margo Geer won the women's 100 free in 48.51, while Texas' Karlee Bispo claimed second in 49.01. Texas' Kelsey Amundsen wound up third in 49.09. Arizona's Nimrod Shapira Bar-Or snatched the men's 100 free title in 42.52. Texas' Jimmy Feigen took second in 42.77, while Longhorn's Garrett Weber-Gale placed third in 42.94.

Arizona swept the podium in the men's 200 breast with a competitive finish. Carl Mickelson won in 1:55.45, while Austen Thompson took second in 1:55.90, while Kevin Munsch snatched third in 1:55.96. Arizona's Alyssa Anderson claimed the women's 200 fly in an NCAA A cut of 1:54.91. Texas' Leah Gingrich finished second in 1:56.95, while UCLA's Yas Jahanshahi took third in 1:58.20. Arizona's AJ Tipton topped the men's 200 fly in an NCAA A cut 1:42.67, while Wisconsin's Daniel Lester touched second in 1:44.32. Texas' Neil Caskey completed the top three in 1:46.13.

Arizona's Margo Geer, Kait Flederbach, Gracie Finnegan and Monica Drake turned in an NCAA A cut time of 3:14.48 to win the women's 400 free relay. Teammates Nimrod Shapira Bar-Or, Cam Owen, Nick Hadinger and Kelley Wyman clocked an NCAA A cut of 2:51.43 to top the men's 400 free relay.

In diving, Houston's Lacey Truelove won the women's platform event with 291.10 points, while Purdue's David Boudia captured the men's platform title with 537.65 points.

Comments Off on Texas Invite: Laura Sogar, Maggie Meyer, Cory Chitwood Post Swift Times

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here