Texas Invitational: Lara Jackson Lowers 50 Free American Record

AUSTIN, Texas, December 4. THE first night of finals finished with Lara Jackson of Arizona lowering her American record set during prelims at the Texas Invitational held in Austin, Texas.

Women's 200 freestyle relay
Lara Jackson proved that her American record 50 free of 21.37 from this morning wasn't a fluke as she matched Natalie Coughlin's former standard of 21.46 during Arizona's leadoff leg. The Arizona squad of Jackson, Lindsey Kelly, Anna Turner and Taylor Baughman completed the race at the top of the podium with a time of 1:27.72.

Wisconsin's Beckie Thompson, Maggie Meyer, Kelsey Gergen and Christine Zwiegers placed second in 1:29.47, while Texas' Karlee Bispo, Hee-jin Chang, Brie Powers and Katie Riefenstahl took third in 1:29.63.

Men's 200 freestyle relay
Texas' David Walters, Benjamin Van Roeckel, Jonathan Jackson and Jimmy Feigen won the race in 1:17.20 with Feigen throwing down a strong 18.98 anchor leg.

Arizona's Jordan Smith, Ryan Richardson, Adam Small and Jake Tapp placed second in 1:17.21, barely missing Texas' winning relay in an exciting finish. Wisconsin's Kyle Sorensen, Phil Davies, Fraser Roberts and Wes Lagerhausen made up the rest of the podium in 1:19.85.

Women's 500 freestyle
Arizona went back-to-back with a top-two sweep in the middle distance event. Alyssa Anderson topped the race with a time of 4:39.54, while teammate Leone Vorster claimed second in 4:39.83. Ashley McCleery, swimming unattached, touched third in 4:42.50.

Women's 100 fly
Obviously on point at this meet with an American record in her pocket already, Arizona's Lara Jackson captured the 100 fly title with a swift effort of 51.12. Texas' Kathleen Hersey clocked a time of 51.40 for second, while Arizona's Ana Agy finished third in 51.74.

Men's 100 fly
Ricky Berens of Texas hit the wall is a swift time of 45.54 to win the 100 fly crown, while Wisconsin's Scott Rice claimed second in 46.54. Texas' Hill Taylor rounded out the top three in 46.69.

Men's 500 freestyle
Arizona's Jean Basson crushed the competition in the men's 500 free with a winning time of 4:13.10. He held even with Michael Klueh of Texas throughout the initial half of the race before dropping the hammer. Klueh settled for second in 4:15.35, while teammate Jackson Wilcox finished third in 4:16.42.

Women's 200 IM
Texas' Kathleen Hersey fought back against the Arizona Wildcat efforts with a winning time of 1:56.17 in the 200 IM. She downed Arizona's Jenny Forster by nearly a second, as Forster touched in 1:57.02. Arizona's Carley Beaudreau finished third in 1:57.71.

Men's 200 IM
In a barn-burner, Texas' Ricky Berens owned Arizona's Bryan O'Connor in the freestyle leg with a blistering time of 24.17 to overtake O'Connor with a winning readout of 1:43.73. O'Connor, who led at the 150-yard mark, finished second in 1:43.96. Arizona's Jack Brown wound up third in 1:45.73.

Women's 50 freestyle
It didn't take long for Lara Jackson of Arizona to progress her American record from prelims further, as she smoked the University of Texas crowd with a scintillating time of 21.33. That performance cleared her preliminary American standard of 21.37 set this morning.

Texas' Hee-jin Chang (22.05) and Karlee Bispo (22.32) finished second and third.

Men's 50 freestyle
David Walters of Texas ripped off a time of 19.33 to win the splash-and-dash title, while Arizona's Jordan Smith finished second in 19.37. Jimmy Feigen of Texas wrapped up third with a time of 19.56.

Men's 1m diving
Texas' Drew Livingston (397.65), Jonathan Wilcox (394.00) and Matt Cooper (361.30) swept the top-three spots in the diving intermission.

Women's 400 medley relay
The Arizona foursome of Justine Schluntz, Annie Chandler, Ana Agy and Taylor Baughman clocked a time of 3:31.71 for the victory.

Texas' Kathleen Hersey, Alexi Spann, Hee-jin Chang and Karlee Bispo took second in 3:36.35, while Wisconsin's Maggie Meyer, Ashley Wanland, Christine Zwiegers and Beckie Thompson finished third in 3:37.55.

Men's 400 medley relay
Texas' team of Hill Taylor, Agustin Magruder, Ricky Berens and David Walters captured the crown in 3:09.10, edging the Arizona effort of 3:09.34 clocked by Bryan O'Connor, Marcus Titus, A.J. Tipton and Jordan Smith.

The Arizona B team of Scott Jackson, Josh Arreguin, Jordan Slaughter and Nimrod Shapira Bar-Or took third in 3:13.32.

Comments Off on Texas Invitational: Lara Jackson Lowers 50 Free American Record

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here