Texas A&M Women Battle Back Buoyed By Paige Miller Double; Aggie Men Lead at Art Adamson Invite

COLLEGE STATION, Texas, November 22. A night after Stanford made some big statements on the women’s side of the Art Adamson Invitational, the Aggie women made a charge of their own. Meanwhile, the Aggie men continue to control the men’s team title race.

Stanford and Texas A&M threw down in the opening event of the night with the Cardinal having just a little too much for the hosts to handle. Stanford’s Felicia Lee (24.14), Sarah Haase (27.11), Nicole Stafford (23.99) and Maddy Schaefer (21.55) popped an NCAA A cut time of 1:36.79 to win the women’s 200-yard medley relay.

A&M’s Paige Miller (24.38), Breeja Larson (26.95), Sammie Bosma (23.99) and Lili Ibanez Lopez (21.65) finished just behind with a second-place 1:36.97 to also beat the A cut. Stanford’s B squad of Annemarie Thayer (25.23), Katie Olsen (27.19), Mackenzie Stein (24.45) and Lia Neal (21.88) produced the third-place swim with a 1:38.75.

TCU’s Cooper Robinson (22.22), Ford Story (24.55), Adam Szilagyi (21.90) and Josh Mangus (19.50) topped the hosts in the men’s 200-yard medley relay with a 1:28.17. A&M’s Henrik Lindau (22.75), Jack Burley (24.93), Kyle Troskot (21.60) and Cory Bolleter (19.57) finished second in 1:28.85 in an intra-state battle. LSU’s Michael Young (22.95), Gabriel Rooker (25.42), Frank Greeff (21.28) and Marco Gonzalez (19.44) rounded out the top three in 1:29.09.

Stanford’s Maya DiRado demolished both the NCAA A cut and her in-season best in the women’s 400-yard IM with a sizzling 4:00.88. That is her third-fastest swim ever, blasting her previous in-season mark of 4:02.06 from the 2011 Texas Invite. She’s only been faster twice before with a 3:59.88 from 2012 NCAAs and a 4:00.58 at the 2013 Pac 12s. Prior to this evening, Tanja Kylliainen of Louisville had held the top time in the NCAA this year with a 4:07.57 from October.

Texas A&M’s Cammile Adams cruised to a B cut time of 4:07.04, while Stanford’s Andie Taylor pocketed a third-place 4:09.39 in what proved to be a pretty spread out finale with everyone just swimming their own races instead of battling each other.

The men followed in the 400 IM with A&M’s Hayden Duplechain taking the title in a B cut 3:51.03, while TCU’s Mitchell Adshead placed second in a B cut 3:52.85. A&M’s Simon Frank captured third-place honors with a 3:55.59.

Texas A&M’s Paige Miller lit up the 100 fly with a B cut time of 52.37 as she has just enough down the stretch to beat Stanford’s Felicia Lee to the wall. Lee, meanwhile, posted a B cut time of her own in 52.46 in what proved to be a scorcher of a finale as every swimmer beat the NCAA B cut. A&M’s Cammile Adams took her second straight top-three time with a 52.64.

A&M’s Henrik Lindau became the first man under 47 seconds in the NCAA this year with a 46.52 to win in a B cut time. LSU’s Frank Greeff checked in with a second-place time of 47.27, while Air Force’s Ryan Dunne snuck into the top three with a B cut 48.07. A&M’s Kyle Troskot also cleared the B cut with a 48.28.

After a rough night one against Stanford, the Aggies continued their strong night in the women’s events with Ibanez Lopez touched out Neal, 1:43.75 to 1:43.86, in the women’s 200-yard free. Both times beat the NCAA A cut, and are the top times in the country. Stanford’s Julia Anderson led four NCAA B cuts in the finale with a third-place time of 1:45.55.

The A&M men had a strong 200-yard free with a 1-2 finish as Luke Shaw clipped teammate Paul-Marc Schweizer, 1:37.20 to 1:37.22, both under the NCAA B cut. SMU’s Matt Roney, meanwhile, also beat the B cut with a third-place 1:37.92.

After already having been the only swimmer under 1:00 this year with a 59.23 last month, A&M’s Breeja Larson stepped it up a notch with a pair of blazing swims today. First, she broke through 59 seconds with a 58.29 in prelims before winning the finale in the women’s 100-yard breast with a 59.07. Both times under the NCAA A cut. Stanford’s Sarah Haase took second in a B cut 1:00.35 after clocking a 1:00.12 in prelims, while A&M’s Ashley McGregor placed third in a B cut 1:00.40. The entire finale cleared the B cut, demonstrating the depth at this meet.

Air Force moved into the win column as Michael Barnosky clocked an NCAA B cut of 54.25 in the 100-yard breaststroke. TCU’s Ford Story placed second with a 54.82, also under the B standard. LSU’s Gabriel Rooker rounded out the top three in 55.65.

A&M’s Miller touched out Stanford’s Lee for the second event of the night as Miller claimed the 100-yard back in 51.36 against Lee’s 51.46. Both times are better than the NCAA A cut. Meanwhile, Stanford’s Maddy Schaefer clinched third with a 52.30 to beat the B cut. Again, marking the depth of this meet, the top 10 swimmers all beat the B standard.

TCU’s Cooper Robinson tracked down the men’s 100-yard back crown in 47.34, while A&M’s Lindau (48.11) and Alexandros Theocharidis (48.16) placed second and third as the top five all beat the NCAA B cut in the finale.

Stanford closed out the women’s portion of the night with a blistering 6:58.57 in the women’s 800-yard free relay by way of Schaefer (1:45.79), DiRado (1:43.63), Lee (1:45.15) and Neal (1:44.00) as the Cardinal dominated the race. A&M’s Meredith Oliver (1:45.73), Sarah Henry (1:46.93), Sammie Bosma (1:46.76) and Ibanez Lopez (1:47.60) also cleared the NCAA A cut with a second-place 7:07.02.

Stanford’s B team of Nicole Stafford (1:46.90), Allison Arnold (1:49.06), Andie Taylor (1:47.48) and Julia Anderson (1:46.39) finished third overall in a B cut 7:09.83.

A&M’s Mateo Muzek (1:38.86), Shaw (1:37.49), Hunter Funk (1:37.76) and Schweitzer (1:37.48) closed out the night with a 6:31.59 to win the men’s 800 free relay. Air Force’s Dunne (:38.25), George Frank (1:38.42), Jackson Locke (1:40.03) and Robby Graves (1:39.07) finished second in 6:35.77, while TCU’s Adam Sziligayi (1:38.38), Sebastian Arispe (1:38.75), Josh Mangus (1:40.30) and Anthony McMurry (1:38.53) picked up third in 6:35.96.

In diving, LSU’s Alex Bettridge proved consistent throughout the day, following a preliminary 310.40 with a 309.55 point tally to win the finale of the one-meter event. Stanford’s Kassidy Cook (298.85) and Stephanie Phipps (291.70) took second and third. LSU also won on the men’s side as Sean McKinney dueled with Stanford’s Kristian Ipsen. McKinney won 415.75 to 405.40. Stanford’s Bradley Christe took third with 402.85 points.

1. Texas A&M, 933.5
2. Stanford, 895.5
3. LSU, 456
4. SMU, 252
5. TCU, 174
6. Air Force, 33

1. Texas A&M, 810.5
2. LSU, 562.5
3. Air Force, 528
4. TCU, 394
5. SMU, 326.5
6. Stanford, 122.5

Comments Off on Texas A&M Women Battle Back Buoyed By Paige Miller Double; Aggie Men Lead at Art Adamson Invite

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue