Synchronized Prelims Set Up Strong Finals at USA Diving Nationals

Photo by Matthew DeMaria/Tennessee Athletics

KNOXVILLE, Tennessee, August 13. THE field is set for the weekend synchronized diving finals after preliminary competition Tuesday at the AT&T National Diving Championships.

2008 Olympian Ariel Rittenhouse (Santa Cruz, Calif.) and Amanda Burke (Southampton, Pa./State College, Pa.) head into the women’s 3-meter synchro finals as the top qualifiers, finishing first with 285.90 in the prelims. Deidre Freeman (Grinnell, Iowa/Iowa City, Iowa) and Maren Taylor (Arlington, Va./Austin, Texas) were second with 274.20 points.

In men’s 3-meter synchro, the top qualifiers were Cory Bowersox (Burke, Va./Austin, Texas) and Zachary Nees (Hatfield, Pa.) with 411.93 points. Bryce Klein (Southlake, Texas) and Bradley Christensen (Southlake, Texas/Stanford, Calif.) were second at 399.03.

Brandon Loschiavo (Huntington Beach, Calif.) and Tarek Abdelghany (Ladera Ranch, Calif.) were first in the men’s synchronized 10-meter preliminaries with 377.25 points, with Zach Cooper (Trafalgar, Ind.) and Tanner Wilfong (Hershey, Pa./Coral Gables, Fla.) in second at 366.33.

Murphy Bromberg (Bexley, Ohio/Austin, Texas) and Emma Ivory-Ganja (The Woodlands, Texas/Austin, Texas) finished first in the women’s 10-meter synchro prelims at 282.00. Rachel Rubadue (Columbus, Ohio) andOlivia Rosendahl (Los Angeles, Calif.), who won this event at last week’s USA Diving Junior National Championships, were second with 267.33 points.

The top six teams in each of the synchro events qualify for the finals.  The men’s 10-meter and women’s 3-meter synchro finals will be contested Saturday, with women’s 10-meter and men’s 3-meter synchro on the schedule for Sunday.

The AT&T National Diving Championships continue through Sunday, August 17Wednesday’s competition features men’s and women’s 1-meter preliminaries and finals. Preliminary events begin at 10 a.m., with finals set for 5 p.m.

AT&T National Diving Championships – August 12, 2014

Synchronized women’s 3-meter preliminary – Top six teams advance to finals

1. Ariel Rittenhouse, Stanford Diving / Amanda Burke, Mason Dive Academy, 285.90;2. Maren Taylor, Longhorn Aquatics / Deidre Freeman, Iowa Diving Club, 274.20;3. Brooke Schultz, Indiana Diving / Sarah Bacon, Indiana Diving, 262.62;4. Kassidy Cook, Unattached / Ashlynn Peters, Woodlands Diving Academy, 257.10;5. Kristen Hayden, Duke Diving / Kirby Quinn, Unattached, 254.10;6. Annika Lenz, UCLA Diving / Daria Lenz, SoCal Divers, 248.64;7. Alexa Beckwith, Mile High Dive Club / Katie Russ, Mile High Dive Club, 245.37;8. Christa Cabot, Kentucky Diving Club / Lindsay Keahey, Kentucky Diving Club, 243.33;9. Phoebe Lamay, Cougar Diving Club / Anne Kastler, CAL Diving Club, 239.97;10. Bridget O’neil, GC Diving / Emily Grund,, 238.68;11. Sine Scribbick, San Antonio Divers / Alison Maillard, Cougar Diving Club, 227.94;12. Lauren Reedy, Unattached / Meghan Houston, Longhorn Aquatics, 225.90;13. Kelli Stockton, H2okie Aquatics / Ashley Buchter, H2okie Aquatics, 225.75;14. Karlee Price, Di  vingwell / Gabriella Comunale, Divingwell, 223.08;15. Madison Witt, Mission Viejo / Haley Farnsworth, Mission Viejo, 218.58;

Synchronized men’s platform preliminary – All teams advance to finals

1. Brandon Loschiavo, Mission Viejo / Tarek Abdelghany, Mission Viejo, 377.25;2. Zachary Cooper, Indiana Diving / Tanner Wilfong, Unattached, 366.33;3. Toby Stanley, Indiana Diving / Mark Anderson, Longhorn Aquatics, 361.23;4. Andrew Hull, Indiana Diving / Danton Rogers, Indiana University, 314.88;

Synchronized women’s platform preliminary – All six teams advance to finals

1. Samantha Bromberg, Longhorn Aquatics / Emma Ivory-Ganja, Longhorn Aquatics, 282.00;2. Rachel Rubadue, Ohio State Diving Club / Olivia Rosendahl, Trojan Dive Club, 267.33;3. Katrina Young, Florida State University Diving Team / Amy Cozad, Unattached, 267.30;4. Lisa Faulkner, YCF Diving Team / Mya Kraeger, YCF Diving Team, 255.87;5. Brooke Pospichal, Indiana Diving / Annie Wiese, Indiana Diving, 255.60;6. Christa Cabot, Kentucky Diving Club / Lindsay Keahey, Kentucky Diving Club, 217.20;

Synchronized men’s 3-meter preliminary – Top six advance to finals

1. Cory Bowersox, Longhorn Aquatics / Zachary Nees, Unattached, 411.93;2. Bryce Klein, GC Diving / Bradley Christensen, Stanford Diving, 399.03;3. Ryan Hawkins, H2okie Aquatics / Jakob (jb) Kolod, Unattached, 377.04;4. Henry Fusaro, Clavadistas del Sol / Tanner Wilfong, Unattached, 342.06;5. Michael Mosca, Unattached / Jack Nyquist, North Carolina Diving, 334.02;6. Max Showalter, Duke Diving / Andrew Capobianco, Duke Diving, 329.82;7. Kegan Skelton, Unattached / Manny Pollard, Unattached, 298.17;8. Dustin Miller, Unattached / Kalonji Cole, Unattached, 293.10;

1 Comment

1 comment

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here