Swimming, Diving and Synchronized Swimming Announce Recipients of Top Honors at USAS Convention

CHICAGO, Illinois, September 20. THE winners of awards in swimming, synchronized swimming and diving were announced at last night's ceremony that concluded the 2009 United States Aquatic Sports convention.

Two awards presented previously were announced at the start of the banquet. Bartolo Consolo of Italy won the R. Max Ritter Award, given to "the organization or individual of a FINA member federation who has contributed the most to the advancement of understanding and good will among nations through international participation in amateur aquatic sports," according to the award's description. Consolo was given the award at the world championships in July.

Earlier this year, Dara Torres received the International Fair Play Award for her sportsmanship in the semifinals of the 50 freestyle at the 2008 Beijing Olympics. Torres worked to delay the start of the race as a competitor's suit ripped and had to put on a new one. Torres accepted the award at the world championships.

Following are award winners announced at the ceremony:

USA Swimming Award:
Sid Cassidy
Swimmer of the year: Ryan Lochte

Diver of the year:
Troy Dumais
Phil Boggs Award: Michele Mitchell

Masters swimming
Masters coach of the year:
Nancy Kirkpatrick-Reno
Ransom J. Arthur Award: Julie Heather

Synchronized swimming
Athlete of the year
: Barbara Nesbitt
Lillian MacKellar Distinguished Service Award: Laura LaCursia

SwimmingWorld.TV will stream the award ceremony in its entirety on SwimmingWorld.com Wednesday at 5 p.m. Pacific time (8 p.m. Eastern). Sport-specific segments will be available on-demand at SwimmingWorld.TV.

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here