Swimming Canada Names 2007 FINA World Aquatic Championship Team

OTTAWA, Ontario, Canada, September 15. SWIMMING Canada announced its 22-member World Championships team on Friday.

The Canadian Swim Team for the 2007 FINA World Aquatic Championships was selected based on results from the 2006 Mutual of Omaha Pan Pacific Swimming Championships in Victoria, British Columbia as well as the FINA World Open Water Championships in Naples, Italy held last August.

“I’m really excited of having such a great group of veterans on the Worlds Team that will be able to take the young one under their wings and get them as energized about competing for Canada on the World stage” Pierre Lafontaine, CEO & National Coach of Swimming Canada, said. “We have had some great outcomes both in and out of the pool last summer and our objective is to keep moving forward and celebrating all these great successes as a Team.”

Canada’s 12 member Men’s Team will comprise of seven Olympians. Among them are Pan Pacs Gold Medalist Brent Hayden (Mission BC /UBC Dolphins), Commonwealth Games Gold Medalist Mike Brown (Perth ON/ University of Calgary Swim Club), Pan Pacs Gold Medalist Andrew Hurd (Cambridge, ON /Toronto Swim Club), World Championships double Silver relay medalist Rick Say (Salmon Arm, BC/IS), Commonwealth Games Silver and Bronze medalist Brian Johns (Richmond, BC/UBC Dolphins), Canadian Record holder in the 200 m backstroke Keith Beavers (Orangeville, ON/ROW) and Commonwealth Games Bronze relay medalist Matt Rose (Lindsay, ON/IS).

Also competing for Canada are members of the 2005 World Championships Team, silver relay medalist Colin Russell (Burlington, ON/Dolphin), Jarrod Ballem (Charlottetown, PEI/University of Calgary Swim Club), as well as 2006 Pan Pacs team members, bronze medalist Ryan Cochrane (Victoria, BC/IS), David Creel (Dalhousie, NB/ Pacific Coast Swimming) and Philippe Dubreuil (Sherbrooke QC/CNS).

On the Women’s side, World Championship medalist Brittany Reimer (Victoria BC/IS), Commonwealth Games Bronze medalists Audrey Lacroix (Pont Rouge QC/CAMO), Erica Morningstar (Calgary, AB/CP), Victoria Poon (LaSalle, QC/CNPPO), Genevieve Saumur (Montreal QC/CNPPO), as well as Pan Pacs silver medalist Julia Wilkinson (Stratford, ON/NYAC), Open water bronze medalist Tanya Hunks (Brantford, ON/UBC Dolphins), and Kelly Stefanyshyn (Winnipeg, MB/UBC Dolphins), MacKenzie Downing, (Whitehorse, Yukon/ UVIC/Pacific Coast Swimming), and Caroline Murray (Matane /Saint-Luc, QC/UL) will represent Canada in Melbourne.

The coaching staff for Canada will include Tom Johnson (Vancouver, BC), Jan Bidrman (Calgary, AB), Randy Bennett (Victoria, BC), Dean Boles (Kitchener, ON) and Ron Jacks (Victoria, BC).

From Swimming Canada news reports.

Comments Off on Swimming Canada Names 2007 FINA World Aquatic Championship Team

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here