Sun Yang, Ye Shiwen Fire Up Chinese Nationals With Blistering Swims

ZHENGZHOU, China, April 8. OLYMPIC champions Sun Yang and Ye Shiwen had overall outstanding meets during the eight-day long Chinese Long Course National Championships, a precursor for what is to come from China at the 2013 FINA World Championships later this summer.

Sun captured four golds, and moved himself to the top of the heap in three different events with world-leading times. Sun topped the 1500-meter free in a sizzling time of 14:48.10 to lead the world, while he raced to a 7:48.60 in the 800-meter freestyle on day four, second-best in the world behind Ryan Cochrance's efforts at the Canadian World Championship Trials.

Sun also stormed to victory in the 200-meter free with a 1:44.99 for the win, just missing his silver-winning performance from the 2012 London Olympics in the event and putting him comfortably atop the world rankings so far this year. Sun kicked off the meet with a 3:42.93 to capture the men's 400-meter freestyle title, and his third world-leading effort of the event.

Ye also had a stellar meet, picking up victories in the 200-meter free, 200 back, 200 IM and 400 IM. She finished the meet with a 4:34.27 in the 400 IM to stand second in the world so far this season behind Hannah Miley's 4:34.21 from Eindhoven. Ye also clocked in a 2:09.12 in the 200 back, while also earning victory in the 200-meter free with a 1:57.54 as she continues to diversify her racing portfolio heading into Barcelona. She also emerged victorious in the 200-meter IM with a time of 2:09.08.

In other notable action, Tang Yi raced to victory in the 100-meter free with a 54.03, while Mao Feilian took down the Chinese record in the 200-meter breaststroke with a 2:11.16. Fu Yuanhui took down a textile best in the 50-meter back with a time of 27.22. That swim cleared the previous textile best of 27.45 owned by Gao Chang, with the world record of 27.06 still standing to Zhao Jing. Fu also topped the 100-meter back with a time of 59.56.

Wang Shun crushed the 200 IM with a time of 1:57.50 for a national record, while Ning Zetao clocked a 48.60 to clinch the men's 100-meter free, just besting Lu Zhiwu's second-place 48.86. Wang also snared the men's 400-meter IM title with a time of 4:13.85.

Meanwhile, Shao Yiwen won the women's 400-meter free in a time of 4:06.15, while Lu Ying snared the women's 100-meter fly crown in 57.94. Lu moved to second in the world this year behind a 57.90 from Sarah Sjostrom at the Eindhoven Swim Cup. Jiao Liuyang countered in the women's 200-meter fly with a 2:05.87 for the win.

Wang Shuai clinched the men's 100-meter breaststroke title in 1:01.11 with Wu Peng of Club Wolverine racing to 23.79 to win the men's 50-meter fly. He Jianbin took home the men's 100-meter backstroke crown in 53.97, while Sun Ye wound up atop the women's 100-meter breaststroke with a time of 1:07.90. Li Xiayin snared the men's 50-meter breaststroke title in 27.89, while Chen Yin topped the men's 200-meter fly in 1:56.02.

Shi Jinglin earned the women's 200-meter breaststroke title in 2:25.88, while Xu Jiayu took home the men's 200-meter back in 1:57.83. Xu Danlu raced to a win in the women's 800-meter free with an 8:25.09. Pang Wenxian earned the women's 1500-meter freestyle title in 16:06.10.

Comments Off on Sun Yang, Ye Shiwen Fire Up Chinese Nationals With Blistering Swims

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue