Summit League Championships

ROCHESTER, Michigan, February 21. OAKLAND freshman Anders Jensen hit his second NCAA automatic qualifying standard and set league, school and pool records in the 200-yard backstroke (1:41.49) and set an NCAA ‘B' cut and school, pool and league records in the 200 butterfly (1:44.19), and was thus awarded both Newcomer of the Championship and Swimmer of the Year as Oakland University took the Summit League Championship title for the 10th year in a row Saturday at the OU Aquatic Center.

The Golden Grizzlies also set NCAA "B" cuts in the 200 back with junior Agnes Solan (1:57.33, also a league record), junior Marcin Unold in the 200 back (1:44.77), senior Aaron Holdsworth in the 200 fly (1:44.77) and the men's 400 free relay team of senior Andy Kellogg, senior Justin Veneklase, senior Nicholas Bonucchi and Unold (2:55.95, also a league and pool record).

For the women, the Golden Grizzlies had top showings from senior and repeating Swimmer of the Year Sophia Gustafsson in the 1650 freestyle (16:57.33) and freshman and Newcomer of the Year Alyssa Vela set a Summit League record in the 100 free (50.35).

Centenary's Madeline Wyatt broke the school record in the 200-yard back, as did Jessica Brown. However, it is Wyatt, who will have her name at the top with a time of 2:05.06. With her fourth place finish in the 100-yard free, Leslie Clampitt was able to break the school mark in a time of 52.37, which surpasses her own record by four tenths of a second. In the 200-yard breaststroke, freshman Brittany Wilkens (2:27.72) was just shy of breaking the school, as she was five tenths of a second off. Brown, meanwhile, placed fifth in the 200-yard butterfly, but her time of 2:07.30 shattered the school record by over two seconds.

Both of the 400-yard freestyle relay teams had a good swim, as the Ladies finished third and the Gents were second. The men finished in a time of 3:04.20, which was over a second faster than the school record. The women (3:30.72), meanwhile, were just a second from finishing second, but their time was also fast enough for a new school mark.

Eastern Illinois' Rich Waszak led the Panthers as he placed fourth in the 200-Back in 1:53.40, just short of setting a new school-record time. Joe Ethington took home a sixth place finish in the 100 free with a time of 46.67. While Nathan Moritz had a time of 1:56.50 in the 200 fly to take seventh place. Laura Nilsen captured fifth in the 200 back in 2:07.51, less than a second off her previous school-record time. Lauren Zillmer was seventh in the 100 free, touching in 53.03. Senior Sheila Dugan finished just a second off school-record time in the 200-Breast, touching in 2:25.89.

In relay action, the foursome of Zillmer, Alex Green, Nilsen, and Story Pumphrey touched the wall in 3:34.40, to finish fifth in the 400-Free Relay. The men, meanwhile, captured third place with a time of 3:09.71 as Ethington, Steven King, Tim Mathieu, and Elliott McGill joined forces.

Western Illinois' Laura Dinkleman turned in a solid performance as she won the 200 fly with a time of 2:01.92. McKinzie Jacobs finished second in the 1,650 free with a time of 17:09.10 for the Westerwinds.

On the men's side, Eric Campbell placed second in the men's three-meter dives with a score of 291.10 to lead the Leathernecks.

The Westerwinds' relay team of Kaley Rowe, Taylor Martin, Alyssa Deffner and Amanda Smith swam the 400 free relay with a time of 3:29.74 which was good for second.

South Dakota State's Katie Budahl broke her own school record in the 200 breast clocking a winning time of 2:17.55. She became the first Jackrabbit woman to win an individual Summit League title. Christina Gerometta set a new record in the 1,650 free with a sixth-place time of 17:51.21. Gerometta became the first woman in SDSU history to finish the event in less than 18 minutes. Mallory Onisk also set her third school record in as many days with a fourth-place time of 2:05.05 seconds in the 200 fly.

On the men's side, James Motley set a school record in the 1,650 free for the Jacks. His time of 16:11.52 was more than 30 seconds better than the previous record of 16:41.90 set in 2006. Cade Roberts, placed fourth in the 200 breast with a time of 2:09.10. He also teamed with sophomores John Bisson, Jason Garder and Mark Sandager to take fifth in the 400 free relay. The quartet came in with a time of 3:11.67.

IUPUI was led by Jaron Tuttle as the senior from South Bend, Ind., won the men's three-meter diving with a score of 304.60 en route to being named The Summit League's Diver of the Year. On the women's side, freshman Chen Ni recorded a score of 265.85, setting a new Summit League championship record in the women's one-meter dives. Ni also set the league standard in the women's three-meter dives with a score of 282.70 as she was named The Summit League's Diver of the Year.

Special thanks to the Summit League for contributing this report.

Comments Off on Summit League Championships

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here