Stanford Women Win SMU Swimming and Diving Classic

DALLAS, TX – The Stanford women’s swimming & diving team won the forth annual SMU Women’s Swimming & Diving Classic on Saturday night at Perkins Natatorium. The Cardinal, who finished second at the 1997 NCAA Championships, scored 361 points to break SMU’s two-years hold on the Classic title. The Mustangs placed second (350 points) followed by Nebraska (273), Texas (250.50), Auburn (226.50) and Wisconsin (201).

Stanford’s Misty Hyman and SMU’s Martina Moravcova tied for high point scorer honors, both tallying 61 points. Hyman won the 200 back (1:56.61), 100 fly (54.34) and 200 fly (1:57.55). Moracova finished first in the 100 free (49.74), 200 IM (2:01.03) and 200 free (1:46.35). Moracova has either won or tied for high point scorer honors at each of the last three SMU Classic meets.

SMU’s Jenny Lingamfelter, who won both the one and three-meter competition at the two-day meet, was the high point diver for the second consecutive year.

Stanford, which led SMU by just five points at the conclusion of Friday’s session, opened up a commanding lead by winning the finals of the first four events on Saturday-the 400 free relay (3:23.31), the 500 free (Lauren Thies, 4:51.87), the 200 back (Hyman, 1:58.61), and the 200 breast (Austevoll, 2:13.41).

Comments Off on Stanford Women Win SMU Swimming and Diving Classic

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue