Stanford Men, BYU Women Win Speedo Cup

LONG BEACH, Calif., November 19. THE Stanford men and BYU women won the UC Irvine/Speedo Cup title at Belmont Plaza Olympic Pool. The Cardinals posted a winning score of 1803.5 while BYU recorded 1088 points. Both UC Irvine's men's and women's squads finished fourth with 635.5 and 694 points, respectively.

Stanford finished first in four of the five individual events to maintain its hold on the rest of the field. Shaun Phillips won the 1650 freestyle event with a time of 14:58.62, smashing the NCAA qualifying time of 15:05.87 as well as rewriting the meet record of 15:14.57, which he set in 2004. Hongzhe Sun, who was named the men's Athlete of the Meet, also qualified for the NCAAs in the 200 backstroke event with a time of 01:43.30 (1:44.02).

UCI's Eddie Erazo came away with a first-place finish in the 200 butterfly, recording a time of 1:47.12.

On the women's side, BYU won the 1650 freestyle, 200 backstroke and 400 freestyle relay. The team of Natasha Menezes, Brittany Burk, Kirsty Ferrell and Leilani Roberts finished with a time of 3:29.24. Menezes also collected a first-place finish in the 1650 (17:10.44).

UCI's top finish for the women came from Lyndsay DePaul, who was named the women's Athlete of the Meet. DePaul logged a time of 2:00.51 in the 200 butterfly.

Comments Off on Stanford Men, BYU Women Win Speedo Cup

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here