South Carolina Short Course State Swimming Championships

By Candice Peak

DUNCAN, South Carolina. February 16. THE Y-Spartaquatics Swim Team (YSSC) took charge during the South Carolina State Swimming Championships by winning all the senior age group relays on both the men's and women's side during the short course yard competition.

Hayley Lips of YSSC had an impressive 10 wins during the course of the meet including seven individual wins in the 1000 free (10:14.58), 200 free (1:51.72), 100 fly (56.65), 400 IM (4:26.08), 200 fly (2:04.05), 500 free (5:00.54), and 100 free (51.34). Lips also was a member of all three of YSSC's relays, which included the 800 free relay (7:42.87), 400 free relay (3:34.21), and 400 medley relay (3:59.68).

Joining Lips on those winning relays were teammates Kendall Crawford, who had an individual win in the 100 back (57.46), and Annie Gillig, who had an individual win in the 200 back (2:04.22). Caroline Fore also won for YSSC in the 200 IM (2:07.79)

Other individual winners for the meet included Laura Nichols and Heidi Nichols of the YMCA Columbia Swim Team, who won the 100 breast (1:04.95) and 200 breast (2:23.34), respectively. Lauryl Williams from the Spartan Splash School won the 50 free (24.08) and Keenan Lineback from the Myrtle Beach Riptides won the 1650 free (17:17.96) by nine and a half seconds.

David Ingraham from YSSC had a total of six wins, including the 100 fly (50.13) 400 IM (4:00.63), and 200 IM (1:54.72). Ingraham was also part of YSSC's three winning relays including the 800 free relay (6:59.44), 400 free relay (3:11.02), and 400 medley relay (3:31.32).

Teammate Jared Kauffman joined Ingraham on those winning relays and also picked up an individual win in the 100 breast (58.54).

Jonathan Lierley from MPSC was another multiple winner with three individual wins in the 1000 free (9:33.01), 200 fly (1:51.77) and 500 free (4:38.22). Younger brother and teammate Zachary Lierley also had multiple individual wins swimming to first in the 200 breast (2:11.07) and 1650 free (16:20.64).

BJ Hornikel from the Southern Marlins Racing Team had two individual wins in the 200 free (1:41.11) and the 100 free (45.47). Walker Layne claimed a pair of titles as well for Palmetto Aquatics by sweeping backstroke events winning both the 100 back (50.84) and 200 back (1:52.59).

The Y-Spartaquatics Swim Team won the meet with a combined score of 2182 points. Team Greenville was second with 1140 points and Mount Pleasant Swim Club rounded out the top three with 987.5 points.

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here