South Africa Names World Team Following Tumultuous Selection Process

PORT ELIZABETH, South Africa, May 9. FOLLOWING a tumultuous selection process, that included a burst pipe that caused a complete revamp of the South African Nationals schedule, Swimming South Africa has announced its final World Championship roster.

Notably, world-record holder Cameron van der Burgh's selection demonstrated a tweak in the selection criteria as explained by South Africa after the two-day delay at nationals. Initial criteria required swimmers to post FINA A cuts in finals at nationals. But, a two-day postponement and van der Burgh's prior commitment to compete at the Alexander Dale Oen Memorial meet in Norway kept van der Burgh from putting up a qualifying time in finals even though he had already done so during semifinals.

The group also includes Olympic gold medalists Roland Schoeman and Chad Le Clos.


Myles Brown KZNA
Chad le Clos KZNA
Michael Meyer CGA
Darren Murray NTS
Roland Schoeman NTS
Leith Shankland KZNA
Cameron van der Burgh NTS
Gerhard Zandberg NTS
Giulio Zorzi NTS

Jessica Ashleigh – Cooper WPA
Trudi Maree WPA
Vanessa Mohr NTS
Tara Nicholas KZNA
Kyna Pereira KZNA
Karin Prinsloo NTS
Marlies Ross NTS
Rene Warnes KZNA

Open Water:

Men 10 km
Chad Ho (KZNA)
Troyden Prinsloo (KZNA)

Men 5 km
Chad Ho (KZNA)
Danie Marais (WPA)

Women 10 km
Michelle Weber (KZNA)
Clarice le Roux (KZNA)

Women 5 km
Michelle Weber (KZNA)
Kyna Pereira (KZNA)

Comments Off on South Africa Names World Team Following Tumultuous Selection Process

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here