South Africa Finalizes FINA World Short Course Championship Team

PIETERMARITZBURG, South Africa, August 19. DURING the final of four days of competition coming immediately on the heels of the 2012 London Olympics, South Africa completed its 2012 FINA World Short Course roster at the South African Short Course Championships.

A total of 18 swimmers earned berths on the team that will represent South Africa at the World Short Course Championships scheduled for Dec. 12-16 in Istanbul, Turkey at the end of this year.

Final FINA World Short Course Championships Qualification Times:
Chad le Clos — 200m freestyle, 50m butterfly (SF)
Darian Townsend — 200m freestyle, 100m individual medley, 100m freestyle (SF), 200m individual medley
Jessica Pengelly — 400m individual medley, 800m freestyle, 200m individual medley
Kathryn Meaklim — 200 and 400m individual medley
Darren Murray — 100m backstroke, 50m backstroke (SF), 100m individual medley, 200m backstroke
Roland Schoeman — 50m butterfly, 100m individual medley, 50m breaststroke, 50m freestyle
Karin Prinsloo — 100m Backstroke (SF)
Jessica Ashley Cooper- 100m Backstroke (SF), 50m backstroke
Neil Versfeld — 100m breaststroke, 50m breaststroke
Leith Shankland — 100m individual medley
Marne Erasmus — 100m butterfly
Cameron van der Burgh — 50m breaststroke
Trudi Maree — 50m freestyle
Mandy Loots — 100m butterfly
Garth Tune — 50m backstroke
Myles Brown — 1500m freestyle
Michael Meyer — 200m individual medley (heats)
Giulio Zorzi — 50m breaststroke


Comments Off on South Africa Finalizes FINA World Short Course Championship Team

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here